Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Ask for advice or share your fettling tips
User avatar
stevenb
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 15:20 pm

Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby stevenb » Sat Dec 08, 2012 19:05 pm

For the life of me, I just can't connect the Powerlink chain together.
I even had to undo it using the KMC missing link tool.
I have made sure I am careful, that I have the chain tension slackened off etc.
I've even tried to connect it off the bike but it's not playing ball.
I'm squeezing the pins correctly as per the You Tube videos too.

Anyone else had this issue? :?
It's a brand new chain on a brand new bike.
I only disconnected to to fit a Rear mech I've just bought.

User avatar
nicklouse
Lives Here
Posts: 80713
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:14 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby nicklouse » Sat Dec 08, 2012 19:29 pm

put it on the top run of the chain. apply the brakes and step on the pedal.

click.
"Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
Parktools :?:SheldonBrown

User avatar
stevenb
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 15:20 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby stevenb » Sat Dec 08, 2012 19:34 pm

Thanks. Such a simple answer.... :lol:
I didn't want to be too brutal you see.
Thanks for the speedy reply as always.

centimani
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 20:11 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby centimani » Sat Dec 08, 2012 22:24 pm

Had the same and i had to be stupidly brutal to get it to fasten. Standing on the pedal with brakes applied wasnt enough in my case, i had to use a proper set of pliers and even then it needed brutal force.
The one thing that occured to me at the time, what make was my chain, probably Shimano...is there a slight difference in them, enough to cause this problem.
Again, had the same problem, albeit not so bad with other makes of link, but they do get easier to undo and fasten with a little time.

User avatar
stevenb
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 15:20 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby stevenb » Sun Dec 09, 2012 08:39 am

I had the MTB KMC chain off earlier in the day and reconnected that by hand no problem.
I'd also bought a pair of KMC missing link connectors just incase.
I think when my SRAM chain wears out I will certainly replace it with a KMC chain.
I used KMC X10SL chains on both my S-Works & Felt F4 bikes a couple of years back and they were great. No issues. :)

User avatar
sungod
Posts: 6626
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 13:52 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby sungod » Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:52 pm

are you sure it's a powerlink (9-speed) rather than a powerlock (10-speed)?

the sram powerlock isn't reusable, the high fitting force reflects that, once on, it is supposed to stay there

they can be removed with link pliers but i find this damages the link (but as a fit-once part it is not intended for refitting and maybe won't be as safe/secure, i do not reuse powerlock links!)

the reusable links produced by kmc etc. are designed for easy fitting/removal, so finger power is all it takes
my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny

philthy3
Posts: 2702
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 16:22 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby philthy3 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 15:45 pm

I disagree with that as the one on my KMC chain needed to be forced on using the brake and pedals.
We're all buffoons; some slightly less than others.

User avatar
sungod
Posts: 6626
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 13:52 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby sungod » Sun Dec 09, 2012 16:57 pm

i've never had to use tools with a reusable kmc link, kmc's instructions say tool free

if you need to use tools then something is wrong, for instance non-reusable kmc links do need tools
my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny

User avatar
nicklouse
Lives Here
Posts: 80713
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:14 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby nicklouse » Sun Dec 09, 2012 17:28 pm

philthy3 wrote:I disagree with that as the one on my KMC chain needed to be forced on using the brake and pedals.

not all KMC are reusable.
"Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."

Parktools :?:SheldonBrown

User avatar
stevenb
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 15:20 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby stevenb » Mon Dec 10, 2012 07:36 am

KMC's missing link tool is only to help undo the link.
I refitted my KMC chain using my hands.

You are right regarding the SRAM chain in that Powerlock is designed to be fitted once from new (after suitable sizing/link removal). However, my chain is new enough for now. I only wanted it on to set up my new rear mech and it's only getting turbo trainer useage until I buy myself a new KMC chain.

SRAM's Powerlink connector is designed to be re-used as stated. In essence then, you can replace the Powerlock with the Powerlink.

User avatar
nicklouse
Lives Here
Posts: 80713
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:14 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby nicklouse » Mon Dec 10, 2012 09:01 am

stevenb wrote:SRAM's Powerlink connector is designed to be re-used as stated. In essence then, you can replace the Powerlock with the Powerlink.

no as Sram do NOT make a 10spd Power link.
"Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."

Parktools :?:SheldonBrown

User avatar
stevenb
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 15:20 pm

Re: Issues with SRAM Powerlink chain

Postby stevenb » Mon Dec 10, 2012 09:46 am

Oh yeah, my bad.
Just re-read CRC's note re links.


Return to “Workshop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daithi, rambino and 4 guests