cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Ask for advice or share your fettling tips
User avatar
ALIHISGREAT
Posts: 3918
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 15:43 pm

cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby ALIHISGREAT » Sun Jan 06, 2013 20:31 pm

Noticed a small, but quite wide cut in my Giant PR3 tyre yesterday: (sorry for the crap picture)


Image -> maybe looks slightly worse in the flesh than on camera.


I only really had the old PR3 on there so I didn't wear out the GP4000s out on the turbo...do you think its necessary to swap the tyre round for road riding?


(on the plus side it looks like the PR3's did their job and stopped something quite vicious from giving me a puncture)

DT1999
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 20:42 pm

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby DT1999 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 21:16 pm

Uses super glue to fill the cut it works for me

Bikeit65
Posts: 1170
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 11:57 am

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby Bikeit65 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 22:05 pm

+ 1 for superglue
http://www.sweetcart.ie
Planet X RT58
Cannondale CAAD 10 2012.
Pain.. Is weakness leaving the body.

HATING LIFE-CYCLES FROM 2011

thecycleclinic
Posts: 3615
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 23:53 pm
Contact:

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby thecycleclinic » Sun Jan 06, 2013 22:53 pm

Replace the tyre when the carcass is comprimised in some way. Until then the tyre is good.
http://www.thecycleclinic.co.uk -wheel building and other stuff.

User avatar
Monty Dog
Posts: 20383
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 14:31 pm

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby Monty Dog » Mon Jan 07, 2013 09:03 am

That's barely a nick - after a winter of riding on flint-strewn lanes your tyres will probably look like they were fitted by Edward Scissorhands.
Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..

User avatar
Rolf F
Posts: 13574
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 09:29 am

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby Rolf F » Mon Jan 07, 2013 09:35 am

I'm not sure that there is really any point in superglue. It isn't flexible so all you are doing by putting superglue in is adding something sharp to the tyre! All glue can do is stop the split from growing and I've not really seen any evidence of that happening - I bin my tyres because I've worn them out and not because old cuts have grown. And as Monty says, after a while the thing will be covered in cuts anyway.
Faster than a tent.......

User avatar
sungod
Posts: 6637
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 13:52 pm

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby sungod » Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:23 am

tis but a scratch

ignore it, i've got about 20 of those in my tyres (gp4000s), no problem

no need to do anything unless the tyre is bulging or the tube is trying to poke through the hole
my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny

SmoggySteve
Posts: 2362
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 20:10 pm

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby SmoggySteve » Mon Jan 07, 2013 17:51 pm

Find a rubber based glue so it stretches with the tyre. I've fixed worse and had no problems.

DesWeller
Posts: 5233
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 15:36 pm

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby DesWeller » Mon Jan 07, 2013 19:53 pm

If I worried about nicks like that I'd be a nervous wreck. Don't worry about it.

Bikeit65
Posts: 1170
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 11:57 am

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby Bikeit65 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 20:35 pm

Surely the glue in your puncture repair kit will do the job?
http://www.sweetcart.ie
Planet X RT58
Cannondale CAAD 10 2012.
Pain.. Is weakness leaving the body.

HATING LIFE-CYCLES FROM 2011

DesWeller
Posts: 5233
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 15:36 pm

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby DesWeller » Mon Jan 07, 2013 21:06 pm

Do you lot really dick about supergluing tiddly little cracks like that? Jesus Christ.

User avatar
ALIHISGREAT
Posts: 3918
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 15:43 pm

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby ALIHISGREAT » Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:25 am

Thanks for the advice guys just wanted to check since I haven't had a cut that wide and deep before.

philbar72
Posts: 1247
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 21:34 pm

Re: cut in tyre - do I need to swap it out?

Postby philbar72 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 15:36 pm

Wouldn't worry, i've got tyres with the vectran showing ( the stuff that allows your tyre to deal with the stuff on the roads). bike still rides just fine....


Return to “Workshop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DKay, jumbo67 and 6 guests