Etape du Tour 2013

Organising a chain gang? Entering a Sportive/Audax?
grumpygrandad

Etape du Tour 2013

Postby grumpygrandad » Mon Jul 23, 2012 07:08 am

Really want to do this ride in the Pyrenees next year!
Does anyone know what the date is likely to be?
As a teacher, my holidays (although long!) can only be taken at certain times.
Next year we finish on 19th July. Will I have to wait until I retire (and I'm even older and more knackered than I am now!) before I can participate?

pipipi

Re: Etape du Tour 2013

Postby pipipi » Mon Jul 23, 2012 08:09 am

I know the feeling regarding holidays. Lots of them but at the wrong times for cycling. :cry:

And parents still say to me 'we take Johnny out of school because it's cheaper to have a holiday then'. :roll: Well, surprise surprise, the only time I get to have a holiday is in the most expensive time! :x

I keep wanting to do the L2P but that's always the last week of term. :cry:

caledonian1

Postby caledonian1 » Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:36 am

the Pyrenees mountain stages are on 13th and 14th of July 2013 so I would imagine the Etape to be the weekend before. Easily within Scottish school holidays so nae luck there.

saying that cant believe the rain today..so dull too....yet on the radio they are saying its sunshine and nearly 30c in England...knew there would be some advantage living doon sooth

I am up for one of the etapes in 2013 but will wait for stages to be announced...will proably be iconic mountains as 100th event

Vowed to be a stone lighter next year....14stone made it tough last week

caledonian1

Postby caledonian1 » Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:38 am

should add...this is what the tour is to be rumoured to be

http://www.velopeloton.com/2013-tour-de-france-route/

malcolmfrost

Postby malcolmfrost » Mon Jul 23, 2012 17:40 pm

Corsica Etape, Tasty!!

niedermeyer

Postby niedermeyer » Wed Aug 01, 2012 17:07 pm

probably only 1 etape next year (combined turnout for this year was only around 11k) - and not pyrenees!