Inaccurate Garmin 800 Route

General bike chat that does not fit elsewhere
Rulebritania
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:17 pm

Inaccurate Garmin 800 Route

Postby Rulebritania » Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:09 am

I've only just started using the G800 and was not impressed when the route I rode was not a straight line as depicted on the resulting map:

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/261429940

Any ideas is it my settings or just the Garmin?

Any thoughts on what I should be doing with it. I use Strava and when I uploaded it, the 2 hills I rode up were not shown as it did not correctly plot my actual ride.
Don't call me sir I work for a living

Froomes Edgar
Posts: 357
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 19:25 pm

Re: Inaccurate Garmin 800 Route

Postby Froomes Edgar » Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:19 am

It does that when your Garmin didn't record for whatever reason. Did:

a) You run out of battery?
b) press the stop button and forget to restart it?

Rulebritania
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: Inaccurate Garmin 800 Route

Postby Rulebritania » Sun Jan 13, 2013 15:44 pm

Froomes Edgar wrote:It does that when your Garmin didn't record for whatever reason. Did:

a) You run out of battery?
b) press the stop button and forget to restart it?



Battery was fine, so inexperience prob's
Don't call me sir I work for a living

essjaydee
Posts: 843
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 19:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Inaccurate Garmin 800 Route

Postby essjaydee » Sun Jan 13, 2013 21:18 pm

So you forgot to press the start button then :oops:

Have done this myself. You can set it up to remind you to press the start button. Page 39 in the manual shows you how to set this :wink:

fsman
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 15:05 pm

Re: Inaccurate Garmin 800 Route

Postby fsman » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:29 am

If you are using your Edge 800 to route you will need a map with routing.
If you are in the UK I have created a OpenStreetMap for Cycles using the instructions http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/OSM_ ... /Cycle_map

I've uploaded the map here https://sites.google.com/site/openstree ... incycleuk/

just download and put onto your SD-Card in /Garmin folder.

It is the full OSM UK map including all UK cycle routes. I found that the routing is very good too.

User avatar
diy
Posts: 6384
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 20:49 pm

Re: Inaccurate Garmin 800 Route

Postby diy » Mon Jan 14, 2013 13:33 pm

Do you have to rename it to gmapsupp.img ?

fsman
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 15:05 pm

Re: Inaccurate Garmin 800 Route

Postby fsman » Mon Jan 14, 2013 16:14 pm

If you have a edge 800 you don't have to rename the map to gmapsupp.img. But don't use "spaces or special characters" in the filename. e.g. "OSM Cycle & Route.img" would be rejected. I call mine "OSM-Cycle.img"

Remember, if you have multiple maps on the device then you would disable all of the maps expect the one that you want.

If you don't have an edge 800, then I would use the default gmapsupp.img file name if you are only going to store one map on your SD-Card.

tiredofwhiners
Posts: 598
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 15:38 pm

Re: Inaccurate Garmin 800 Route

Postby tiredofwhiners » Mon Jan 14, 2013 17:03 pm

Its definitely the device being switched off. The last few data points on the route are as follows;

pic.jpg


Device switched off at 09:01:27 and turned back on at 09:39:42, followed two seconds later by another switch off :)


Return to “Road General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kellee999 and 4 guests