Cycle computer with cadence

New to Cycling? Want some advice? Start here...

Cycle computer with cadence

Postby Charlie Potatoes » Thu Jul 26, 2012 18:19 pm

Hi Everybody,
Apologies if it has been done to death but I am looking to upgrade my bike computer to include cadence.
I have seen this one for £60 here.....

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_categoryId_165741_productId_761691_langId_-1?cm_mmc=Criteo-_-Category-_-Product-_-Na&_$ja=tsid:35814

It seems realistically priced and has the advantage(?) of a wireless cadence and Altimeter features which I quite like the idea of.

Any thoughts? Any other models worth looking at?

I guess a lot of you use iphone/android for altimeter tracking but, sadly, I have a Windows (betamax) phone which I am tied into for another year :cry:

TIA
"You really think you can burn off sugar with exercise?" downhill paul
User avatar
Charlie Potatoes
 
Posts: 1,577
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 19:21 pm
Location: South Essex

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby TheEnglishman » Thu Jul 26, 2012 18:26 pm

Apparently, smartphones are crap at being altimeters and barometric pressure devices are apparently more accurate. Someone on here posted a pile of like for like comparisons, but you'll have to search for the thread.

Garmin's seem to be the way to go?
User avatar
TheEnglishman
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 23:47 pm
Location: Right in your slipstream

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby Simon Masterson » Thu Jul 26, 2012 18:51 pm

It's one model too low to have cadence, but I have a Sigma Sport BC1009 and it's excellent. Very easy to use and read, well made and has a good feature set.

However, I feel it doesn't get said often enough that you don't NEED a wireless computer. I can vaguely get it in the case of cadence, but the savings on wired computers are considerable, and they are actually (like most wired products) more reliable. One fewer battery, too.
TT: 753 Ribble - 8 speed Campag mix, Syntace bars, Profile extensions, Mike Burrows seatpost, Selle Turbo Lite, various wheels
Pretty much everything else: 531 Claud Butler Majestic
Simon Masterson
 
Posts: 2,143
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 16:52 pm

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby Charlie Potatoes » Thu Jul 26, 2012 19:03 pm

TheEnglishman: I was hoping to avoid the added cost of a Garmin :) Interesting point about the reliability of Altimeters though.

Simon: Yeah I hear what you are saying about 'needing' wireless but my thinking is that it is much tidier and my cheapo bikehut 11 wireless works really well.
"You really think you can burn off sugar with exercise?" downhill paul
User avatar
Charlie Potatoes
 
Posts: 1,577
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 19:21 pm
Location: South Essex

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby TommyEss » Thu Jul 26, 2012 19:06 pm

Wireless works fine until you factor in bright lights - so it's wired on the winter bike, and wireless only on the summer bike.

FWIW, I use a Cateye Strada Double-Wireless. And the wired version of the same without cadence on the winter bike.
Cannondale Synapse 105, Giant Defy 3, Giant Omnium, Giant Trance X2, EMC R1.0, Ridgeback Platinum, On One Il Pompino...
User avatar
TommyEss
 
Posts: 1,856
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:13 am
Location: London

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby jonnymonk » Mon Jul 30, 2012 16:28 pm

Slightly related (didn't want to start a new thread as it must've been covered somewhere else...) but is a computer a worthwhile buy to begin with when you have all these apps available for the phone?
jonnymonk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 00:35 am

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby TommyEss » Mon Jul 30, 2012 16:36 pm

I have a computer on the bars so I can get info whilst I'm riding, particularly cadence and the clock actually, and it's nice to keep an eye on your speed, obviously.

I track it all with a GPS app on the phone in my pocket - I have seen bar-mounted cases for iphones and the like, but they're pretty bulky, and I'm not convinced how water proof they are.

I don't have to take the computer off at the café stop either!
Cannondale Synapse 105, Giant Defy 3, Giant Omnium, Giant Trance X2, EMC R1.0, Ridgeback Platinum, On One Il Pompino...
User avatar
TommyEss
 
Posts: 1,856
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:13 am
Location: London

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby T.M.H.N.E.T » Mon Jul 30, 2012 16:40 pm

Cateye V3 or Polar CS200CAD, secondhand if you have to.
User avatar
T.M.H.N.E.T
 
Posts: 2,337
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 16:20 pm
Location: Larne - Northern Ireland

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby Charlie Potatoes » Mon Jul 30, 2012 16:55 pm

I have ordered the Boardman one after getting some positive feedback from someone who has one and prior to the last few posts.
It was the reasonable price on fleabay that tempted me. I have also downloaded Cycle log App (windows phone).
I'll let you know how it goes :)
"You really think you can burn off sugar with exercise?" downhill paul
User avatar
Charlie Potatoes
 
Posts: 1,577
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 19:21 pm
Location: South Essex

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby philthy3 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 15:43 pm

A Garmin wireless device is reliable until you look at calories burned. The device can easily be moved from one bike to another, they usually come with 2 spare mounts so just buy an additional cadence sensor. A wireless device looks far neater and less cluttered on the bike and can be whipped off into your pocket should you stop and be worried about it going walkies. Phone aps aren't in the same league as dedicated devices and will drain your battery. A phone is for phone calls and is no good if your ap has just eaten the battery life. A Garmin 500 can be picked up fairly cheaply and will do everything except maps. Cadence, HR, calories, distance, speed, time etc etc
I give up dealing with idiots.
philthy3
 
Posts: 2,351
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 17:22 pm
Location: UK

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby Sprool » Mon Jan 28, 2013 16:35 pm

Any recommendations for a cheap wired cycle computer with cadence for around £25 or less, and no ability to make phone calls or download apps?
User avatar
Sprool
 
Posts: 957
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 20:32 pm

Re: Cycle computer with cadence

Postby Canny lad » Mon Jan 28, 2013 23:46 pm

Just flogged the exact model you're looking at on eBay as I got a Garmin for my birthday. It's a good piece of kit, easy to setup and never let me down. The only downside I saw was that the temperature function only reads in Fahrenheit, not Celsius.

They go for £25 - £35 on said tinter net site.

Edit - doh! you got one. Might of bought mine :)

Kin hell, only 6 months late!! Off to bed now :oops:
User avatar
Canny lad
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 01:07 am
Location: Salop


Return to Road Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tjm160 and 26 guests