Garmin 800 settings

New to Cycling? Want some advice? Start here...
User avatar
Peddle Up!
Posts: 1810
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 19:10 pm

Garmin 800 settings

Postby Peddle Up! » Mon Feb 25, 2013 14:24 pm

For such a supremely useful bit of kit, the Garmin 800 must have some of the worst instructions of any appliance. I’ve had electronic stuff with instructions written in “Chinglish” that were more comprehensive and made more sense. :?

I’ve looked at the various “foolproof” guides to setting up your Garmin on the ‘net but they don’t quite work for me (so clearly they aren’t foolproof :) ).

All I want to do is have the screen showing speed, time, cadence, average speed etc., up most of the time, with the map popping up in advance of a turn on a planned route, then disappearing afterwards. I’ve come close to achieving this but the Garmin failed to notify me that I’d gone off route. Having “off course” turned on can result in constant nagging that you’re off course when you aren’t. Something to do with gpx files not tracking completely on roads perhaps?

Has anyone got a setup they’d care to share that will do this?

Thanks.
Purveyor of "up" :)

djm501
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby djm501 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 14:40 pm

Good luck with all that. As far as I can tell wishes are as good as it gets for the last bit at least.

Go to Menu - hit the 'spanner' tab, then 'bike settings' and 'training pages' then 'timer pages'. Click on 'user defined' then just have page 1 on. Turn all the rest off. Going to page 1 make sure the number is the same as the number of things you want showing then click on the tick and it will take you to what the screen will look like. Each one can be turned into whatever you want by holding your finger down on it until a menu appears that will allow you to change it to whatever you want when you release your finger.
For example if I want total elapsed time as the main figure on display (as I do) I have it on seven things showing, the big display at the top I have as 'timer' from the select a Field Category, then 'Time - elapsed'. That returns me to the main screen and I can then repeat with each figure until I'm happy. YMMV

With the 'etc.' you give above it's a little hard to be more precise than that.

If there's any way to get it to stop harrassing you about being off course then I'd like to hear it too.

User avatar
Peddle Up!
Posts: 1810
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 19:10 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby Peddle Up! » Mon Feb 25, 2013 14:50 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm OK setting up the basic data pages, it's getting navigation to work the way I want that stumps me. Glad to hear I'm not the only one fed up with useless "off course" warnings. :)
Purveyor of "up" :)

User avatar
antfly
Posts: 3426
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 15:10 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby antfly » Mon Feb 25, 2013 15:14 pm

Set the "lock on road " to no and you won't get the off course warnings unless you go off course.
Smarter than the average bear.

djm501
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby djm501 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 15:44 pm

Where do you find 'lock on road'? in the depths of the menu settings?

User avatar
antfly
Posts: 3426
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 15:10 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby antfly » Mon Feb 25, 2013 15:50 pm

System, routing.
Smarter than the average bear.

djm501
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby djm501 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 15:53 pm

Hmmm, it's already on no... :roll:

Thanks anyway.

User avatar
antfly
Posts: 3426
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 15:10 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby antfly » Mon Feb 25, 2013 16:00 pm

I very rarely get an off course warning, maybe it's to do with signal strength.
Smarter than the average bear.

djm501
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby djm501 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 17:56 pm

Possibly. Usually I know where I am anyway so I just ignore it, but occasionally it does have a tendency to try and take me across a valley bottom where there is no road and it buzzes like a bee when I insist on using the road. I always make sure I carry back up mapping (smartphone *and* hardcopy) though as I've found it is risky to rely on its direction finding. I do go on very long rides out into the back of beyond though.

User avatar
antfly
Posts: 3426
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 15:10 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby antfly » Mon Feb 25, 2013 18:02 pm

What maps do you use ?
Smarter than the average bear.

djm501
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby djm501 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 18:27 pm

It's got the full OS map of the UK bundle.

User avatar
freezing77
Posts: 727
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 18:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby freezing77 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 19:07 pm

For each course you put on the unit you need to set the route /course settings.
Menu courses, select course, select spanner icon
Turn guidance - On
Virtual partner - I choose off
Off course warnings -On
Map display - I choose Always display, Off

Image

User avatar
Peddle Up!
Posts: 1810
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 19:10 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby Peddle Up! » Mon Mar 04, 2013 09:47 am

Got it! The guide here does exactly what I want. Normal training display most of the time showing speed, av speed, heart rate etc., then before a turn switches to a map showing the turn and gives you two warnings. Excellent.
Last edited by Peddle Up! on Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Purveyor of "up" :)

User avatar
DaveL
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 19:54 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby DaveL » Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:18 am

Turn Guidance, should have been a default setting, as its a pain in the ars* setting it to "on" (or actually forgetting) for every ride.

Dave

User avatar
Peddle Up!
Posts: 1810
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 19:10 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby Peddle Up! » Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:36 am

DaveL wrote:Turn Guidance, should have been a default setting, as its a pain in the ars* setting it to "on" (or actually forgetting) for every ride.

Dave


Quite! Is there any way to fix this? Firmware hack???
Purveyor of "up" :)

User avatar
redvee
Posts: 11683
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 22:03 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby redvee » Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:06 pm

Peddle Up! wrote:Quite! Is there any way to fix this? Firmware hack???


Having updated my firmware to 2.50 it looks as though the 800 remembers your preferences for a course.

User avatar
Peddle Up!
Posts: 1810
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 19:10 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby Peddle Up! » Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:12 pm

redvee wrote:
Peddle Up! wrote:Quite! Is there any way to fix this? Firmware hack???


Having updated my firmware to 2.50 it looks as though the 800 remembers your preferences for a course.


Praise be!
Purveyor of "up" :)

User avatar
apreading
Posts: 3235
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 23:57 pm

Re: Garmin 800 settings

Postby apreading » Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:18 pm

It always did remember your preferences for a course, once you had set them on the unit. But it doesnt apply those preferences to new courses - you have to do it manually each time - unless 2.50 has changed that...


Return to “Road Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests