Strava.com - Put your money where your mouth is

Come and join in the banter: discuss here anything you want, whether bike related or not!
User avatar
Wrath Rob
Posts: 2757
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 21:53 pm

Strava.com - Put your money where your mouth is

Postby Wrath Rob » Sun Sep 11, 2011 18:05 pm

I've recently discovered Strava, uploaded my commutes and then discovered that someone has set up a segment for Chelsea Bridge to P'square. To my surprise Andre Greipel is in first place, with an average of 22.3 mph for the 3.2 miles and I'm in 5th at 21mph.

So, if you want to see how fast you really are, get on Strava, upload some data and set up a segment or 3. Other users can then see their times on the segment too and bingo, a leaderboard is born. I now just need to work out who the other 3 are ahead of me...
FCN3: Titanium Qoroz.

User avatar
KevEss
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:12 pm

Postby KevEss » Sun Sep 11, 2011 19:37 pm

Excellent app, plenty of segments through RP, even tells you if another Strava rider was riding your route with you.

User avatar
JZed
Posts: 2903
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 07:46 am

Postby JZed » Sun Sep 11, 2011 19:44 pm

Image

doyler78
Posts: 1837
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 18:46 pm

Postby doyler78 » Sun Sep 11, 2011 19:53 pm

My other apps - Endomondo, Sporttrackslive, Sports Tracker all seem to give similiar speeds and they correspond well with my 2 bike computers (information overload). I was quite surprised how good they were at calculating moving speed. Strava on the other hand always seems to be out compared to everything else. Even importing into it the gpx data doesn't seem to make any difference. It must have some odd method of calculating things. Great idea though.

User avatar
cjcp
Posts: 12406
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 13:09 pm

Postby cjcp » Sun Sep 11, 2011 21:53 pm

Can you create sections along Embankment if you don't do the full CB->PS route? For example: from BB to VB?
FCN 2-4.

"What happens when the hammer goes down, kids?"
"It stays down, Daddy."
"Exactly."

User avatar
Wrath Rob
Posts: 2757
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 21:53 pm

Postby Wrath Rob » Sun Sep 11, 2011 22:14 pm

Yes. Someone has already done from just before AB to P'Square as one big one, and I've set up Westminster to Blackfriars, but you can create any one you want. It tells you your position on that segment for the day, and then your best goes onto the leaderboard.

As KevEss says, RP lap segments are great. Its also got the KW Club 10 course so you can check your segments on that against people like Steve Irwin to see how slow you are.
FCN3: Titanium Qoroz.

User avatar
JZed
Posts: 2903
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 07:46 am

Postby JZed » Mon Sep 12, 2011 07:51 am

How about from VB lights along Millbank to the last bus-stop (would say Ped X but that'd be silly).

AB - CB

User avatar
notsoblue
Posts: 5771
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 18:08 pm

Postby notsoblue » Mon Sep 12, 2011 09:02 am

Blackfriars to end of NKR:

http://app.strava.com/segments/639928

Well look who is No1... Damnit.

This site will be the death of me.

User avatar
JZed
Posts: 2903
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 07:46 am

Postby JZed » Mon Sep 12, 2011 09:09 am

Image

User avatar
notsoblue
Posts: 5771
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 18:08 pm

Postby notsoblue » Mon Sep 12, 2011 09:28 am

Is there an SCR club on Strava? There should be...

User avatar
dhope
Posts: 6132
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 16:15 pm

Postby dhope » Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:18 am

I was thinking of getting a 2nd Garmin sensor for the commuter. Guess this has made it a near certainty...
Canyon Inflite
Condor Tempo

User avatar
Wrath Rob
Posts: 2757
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 21:53 pm

Postby Wrath Rob » Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:39 am

There is now. Silly Commuter Racers
FCN3: Titanium Qoroz.

User avatar
notsoblue
Posts: 5771
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 18:08 pm

Postby notsoblue » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:03 am

Wrath Rob wrote:There is now. Silly Commuter Racers


Awesome, I'm in.

Anyone else getting a "The plugin has not been unlocked." error when trying to upload from Garmin?

TGOTB
Posts: 3409
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 15:16 pm

Postby TGOTB » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:04 am

cjcp wrote:Can you create sections along Embankment if you don't do the full CB->PS route? For example: from BB to VB?

All you've done in the last week is whinge about your curtailed commute. There's absolutely nothing to stop you riding all the way to (say) Blackfriars in the morning and then pootling back to Millbank as a warm-down :lol:
Pannier, 120rpm.

User avatar
JZed
Posts: 2903
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 07:46 am

Postby JZed » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:44 am

Mmm seems I've the KOM jersey for Col du Putney Bridge. Wrath your 17th - must try harder.

Apparently theres a Cat 4 climb near PS - Jonathan Street Climb. I'm also King on this one too.

pitchshifter
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 13:51 pm

Postby pitchshifter » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:04 pm

Installed...

User avatar
notsoblue
Posts: 5771
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 18:08 pm

Postby notsoblue » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:13 pm

JZed wrote:Mmm seems I've the KOM jersey for Col du Putney Bridge. Wrath your 17th - must try harder.


F*cking hell, you managed 28mph going up Putney Bridge during rush hour!?

User avatar
roger merriman
Posts: 5432
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 22:08 pm
Contact:

Postby roger merriman » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:25 pm

notsoblue wrote:
JZed wrote:Mmm seems I've the KOM jersey for Col du Putney Bridge. Wrath your 17th - must try harder.


F*cking hell, you managed 28mph going up Putney Bridge during rush hour!?


quite! i'm a slow filter so i think I'm bottom of all the lists, faster than the cars mind you but thats not saying much, last time traffic was hardly moving for a good mile or so.

User avatar
JZed
Posts: 2903
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 07:46 am

Postby JZed » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:50 pm

notsoblue wrote:
JZed wrote:Mmm seems I've the KOM jersey for Col du Putney Bridge. Wrath your 17th - must try harder.


F*cking hell, you managed 28mph going up Putney Bridge during rush hour!?


Image

pitchshifter
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 13:51 pm

Postby pitchshifter » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:55 pm

How do you guys get power up? Is it a garmin estimate thing?Or are you both running power meters for your commute :shock: ?


Return to “Commuting Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GolfingGolfer, hopkinb, imatfaal, johngti, PresumingEd, prowlbass, Smokey Bacon, tincaman, tonysp, WarrenG, whatleytom and 10 guests