Light Mount not big enough

What bike and bike bits should you buy?
Germcevoy
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:48 pm

Light Mount not big enough

Postby Germcevoy » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:50 am

Bought the below set of lights for my Triban 3 (front light seriously bright) but the handlebar mount is too narrow for my bars. Are there any decent generic mounts I can use that can be recommended that would fit the fatter bars on my bike?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B006HVK ... 637&sr=8-3

User avatar
nicklouse
Lives Here
Posts: 80713
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:14 pm

Re: Light Mount not big enough

Postby nicklouse » Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:05 pm

"Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
Parktools :?:SheldonBrown

User avatar
prawny
Posts: 4979
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 21:10 pm

Re: Light Mount not big enough

Postby prawny » Fri Oct 05, 2012 13:24 pm

Take the bolt out and put in in your spare bolts tub. Then, with the mount in place on your bars, take a ziptie and thread it through the holes and pull it as tight as you can. Solid as a rock.

You can either use re-usable cable ties if you want to take it on and off regularly or buy a big bag of 100 zip ties for a quid or two of eBay.
Saracen Dirttrax Disc
Saracen Tenet 3 - 2015
Voodoo Bizango - 2014

Germcevoy
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 22:48 pm

Re: Light Mount not big enough

Postby Germcevoy » Wed Oct 10, 2012 18:36 pm

prawny wrote:Take the bolt out and put in in your spare bolts tub. Then, with the mount in place on your bars, take a ziptie and thread it through the holes and pull it as tight as you can. Solid as a rock.

You can either use re-usable cable ties if you want to take it on and off regularly or buy a big bag of 100 zip ties for a quid or two of eBay.


Good shout. Worked a treat.


Return to “Road Buying Advice”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gpgiant, Kajjal, Russboy, SME, speedyturtlewithedge, vpnikolov and 6 guests