Quick Strava Question

Come and join in the banter: discuss here anything you want, whether bike related or not!
Adskis
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:32 pm

Quick Strava Question

Postby Adskis » Thu Nov 15, 2012 17:02 pm

Being relatively new to this Strava thing I have a question.

I use the GPS in my phone to record my rides for Strava, but sometimes the red line that appears in Strava after the ride is not quite on the road I was riding on. It is just off to one side. This means that Strava doesn’t think that I have ridden through a particular segment I have been hunting.

This seems to be fairly consistent on one particular road, but only for my rides. I have looked at others and their red line is right on the road, and my line on other roads is spot on.

What is going on? Please help.

Ad :?

User avatar
meanredspider
Posts: 9943
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 15:24 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby meanredspider » Thu Nov 15, 2012 17:05 pm

Phone GPS is innaccurate I guess
ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH

User avatar
Daddy0
Posts: 591
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 16:02 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby Daddy0 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 17:06 pm

What phone do you have?

Is the problem always in the same area, or random?

(its probably the phone)

Also, do you make sure you get a GPS signal before you start out?

User avatar
dhope
Posts: 6131
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 16:15 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby dhope » Thu Nov 15, 2012 17:08 pm

Phone GPS is pretty crap basically
Canyon Inflite
Condor Tempo

Adskis
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:32 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby Adskis » Thu Nov 15, 2012 17:13 pm

The phone is a Sony Xperia Go and I have this app called Sat-Fix that locks about 7 or 8 sats before I load up Strava and go.

It seems to happen on the same rural road but either side of that road it seems fine, but it does happen at other times less often

User avatar
MTB-Idle
Posts: 1260
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 19:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby MTB-Idle » Thu Nov 15, 2012 17:16 pm

one word....



















....GARMIN
FCN = 4

pitchshifter
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 13:51 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby pitchshifter » Thu Nov 15, 2012 17:18 pm

MTB-Idle wrote:one word....



















....GARMIN


I have had more problems with my Garmin tracking roads than my iPhone ever did...

User avatar
Daddy0
Posts: 591
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 16:02 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby Daddy0 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 17:20 pm

dhope wrote:Phone GPS is pretty crap basically


Some are better than others. My Galaxy S2 seems to be accurate(ish), but can take a while to get a signal - I guess its waiting for a decent signal. The worst thing it does is not track the speed accurately, but this is when I'm going about 58mph* 8) in an area which is a bit of a GPS black spot.

* I'm probably not doing 58mph, normally I get about 48-50mph down this hill, still fast enough to wake me up every morning :D

pastryboy
Posts: 1083
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 18:55 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby pastryboy » Thu Nov 15, 2012 18:41 pm

It happens.

You can fix it with this:

http://strava-tools.raceshape.com/snap/

User avatar
meanredspider
Posts: 9943
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 15:24 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby meanredspider » Thu Nov 15, 2012 19:44 pm

pitchshifter wrote:
I have had more problems with my Garmin tracking roads than my iPhone ever did...


Do you really? Much of the time I reckon if my Garmin is off "the road" I think it's more likely that the map is wrong - most of the time it records accurately which side of the road I'm on.
ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH

User avatar
EKE_38BPM
Posts: 5852
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 10:42 am

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby EKE_38BPM » Thu Nov 15, 2012 19:51 pm

Daddy0 wrote:* I'm probably not doing 58mph, normally I get about 48-50mph down this hill, still fast enough to wake me up every morning :D

...and to ensure a good night's sleep at night!
FCN 3: Raleigh Record Ace fixie-to be resurrected sometime in the future
FCN 4: Planet X Schmaffenschmack 2- workhorse
FCN 9: B Twin Vitamin - winter commuter/loan bike for trainees

I'm hungry. I'm always hungry!

User avatar
BigMat
Posts: 4640
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 13:47 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby BigMat » Thu Nov 15, 2012 21:19 pm

My Garmin is disappointing. Takes forever to get a satellite located, and then doesn't keep a consistent line all the time. Still better than phone though. That Race Shape / SNAP web page is useless as well, spent ages trying to "polish" a ride last night and it just couldn't do it.

User avatar
meanredspider
Posts: 9943
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 15:24 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby meanredspider » Thu Nov 15, 2012 21:27 pm

BigMat wrote:My Garmin is disappointing. Takes forever to get a satellite located, and then doesn't keep a consistent line all the time. Still better than phone though. That Race Shape / SNAP web page is useless as well, spent ages trying to "polish" a ride last night and it just couldn't do it.


Do you keep it still when it's acquiring lock? Makes the world of difference. I stick the Garmin in the open whilst I get myself sorted on the bike (tyres, lights, lock whatever) - only takes it a minute
ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH

User avatar
BigMat
Posts: 4640
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 13:47 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby BigMat » Thu Nov 15, 2012 23:29 pm

meanredspider wrote:
BigMat wrote:My Garmin is disappointing. Takes forever to get a satellite located, and then doesn't keep a consistent line all the time. Still better than phone though. That Race Shape / SNAP web page is useless as well, spent ages trying to "polish" a ride last night and it just couldn't do it.


Do you keep it still when it's acquiring lock? Makes the world of difference. I stick the Garmin in the open whilst I get myself sorted on the bike (tyres, lights, lock whatever) - only takes it a minute


Thing is, it takes at least a couple of minutes to get a lock even when still, often 3 or 4 minutes. I'm a busy man, I'm not going to stand in the cold and wait for that. Even when it has a lock, it takes a few minutes for the distance to start adding up - I wonder if its a bit of a dud / needs a firmware update or something. Leaving it outside is something I could do when leaving home in the morning, but not really ractical leaving work in the evening.

User avatar
meanredspider
Posts: 9943
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 15:24 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby meanredspider » Fri Nov 16, 2012 06:15 am

BigMat wrote:Thing is, it takes at least a couple of minutes to get a lock even when still, often 3 or 4 minutes. I'm a busy man, I'm not going to stand in the cold and wait for that. Even when it has a lock, it takes a few minutes for the distance to start adding up - I wonder if its a bit of a dud / needs a firmware update or something. Leaving it outside is something I could do when leaving home in the morning, but not really ractical leaving work in the evening.


Sounds like there's something very wrong with it unless you're trying to get lock between tall buildings or something. I've had 3 different Garmin devices and none of them took more than about a minute to be ready to go provided they had a reasonable view of the sky.

Garmin do a pretty good warranty exchange scheme for devices outside the 1 year warranty. Even when my 305 Forerunner was run over, they only wanted £50 to replace it.
ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH

Adskis
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:32 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby Adskis » Fri Nov 16, 2012 09:02 am

Thanks for all your advice guys.
Is there such a thing as GPS+1. If not, then there is now. (Christmas is coming)

Oddly, it worked perfectly last night.

Still didn't get the segment though. :D

User avatar
MTB-Idle
Posts: 1260
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 19:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby MTB-Idle » Fri Nov 16, 2012 09:08 am

Garmin's are more accurate than phones as Garmin updates every second and phones only update every 3 seconds.

Phones therefore will 'straightline' a route more than a garmin will. Perhaps not quite so important on the road but off road it means that some people take their phone and a garmin with them as the phone always reports a quicker speed so they can gain KOM but the garmin records the trail properly for future reference and ease of route following.
FCN = 4

User avatar
deadhead1971
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby deadhead1971 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 19:06 pm

Image

I documented the difference between an iPhone 4S and a Garmin Edge 800 - same ride, same day, same time, me and my mate Paul.
Decide for yourself -http://www.scarletfire.co.uk/2012/07/iphone-gps-fail
Alan
http://www.scarletfire.co.uk

--------------

The best cycling cafés, all on one map, and reviewed by cyclists just like us!
http://thecyclecafe.net

User avatar
roger merriman
Posts: 5428
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 22:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby roger merriman » Tue Nov 27, 2012 18:47 pm

deadhead1971 wrote:Image

I documented the difference between an iPhone 4S and a Garmin Edge 800 - same ride, same day, same time, me and my mate Paul.
Decide for yourself -http://www.scarletfire.co.uk/2012/07/iphone-gps-fail


One day does doesn't prove a theory phone manufactures and cycling computers manufactures have access to the same GPS chips, and it shows phones are closing the gap.

To be honest on my Strava feed i don't notice any correlation between the device used and the data. All devices spit out spurious and improbable data. Or simply fly like a crow.... And the next day they are fine.

twist83
Posts: 537
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 15:38 pm

Re: Quick Strava Question

Postby twist83 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 09:59 am

Not sure if it is the same for Android handsets however turning on Wifi on an iPhone increases the GPS accuracy for Maps so I assume it has a similar effect in Strava.

To be honest I have not noticed any difference between iPhone or Garmin 500. In fact the 500 got lost more off road than the iPhone....


Return to “Commuting Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hopkinb, roger merriman and 4 guests