Ultegra to Dura-Ace Di2

Ask for advice or share your fettling tips
motd2k
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 07:54 am

Ultegra to Dura-Ace Di2

Postby motd2k » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:41 am

Does anyone know if the cables work 'as-is' between the Ultegra-6770 and DA9070? Is it just a matter of ponying up and switching the derailleurs, brakes and shifters?

ellj22
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 17:37 pm

Re: Ultegra to Dura-Ace Di2

Postby ellj22 » Sat Jan 26, 2013 13:08 pm

http://techdocs.shimano.com/techdocs/bl ... ID=jNhXKXX

These Shimano tech docs might be of some help, you just need to identify what cable set ect.. you are running. As of yet there seems to be little info on DA9070 on there.

However these guy's may be able to shed some light on your issue as they are the distributor for Shimano in the UK.

http://www.madison.co.uk/contactus.aspx

motd2k
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 07:54 am

Re: Ultegra to Dura-Ace Di2

Postby motd2k » Mon Feb 18, 2013 17:29 pm

For what it's worth, I have bought the DA9070 components and it would appear that it's not just a matter of switching the mechs and shifters.

I've been trying to get away with using the Ultegra SM-EW67 handlebar junction cable, but it doesn't work; now having to try to find the Dura Ace version... SM-EW90, which evidently are as rare as hen's teeth. Pretty annoying to have a build held up by such an insignificant component!

motd2k
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 07:54 am

Re: Ultegra to Dura-Ace Di2

Postby motd2k » Thu Mar 07, 2013 20:25 pm

For future reference, updating the firmware on the SM-EW67 made it compatible with the DA9070 components.

User avatar
big p
Posts: 826
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 21:19 pm

Re: Ultegra to Dura-Ace Di2

Postby big p » Thu Mar 07, 2013 20:34 pm

i know that dura ace 7900 di2 uses a 4 wire analog system and ultegra di2 uses a single wire digital canbus system, that doesn't answer your question, but i thought i would just throw it in any way.

User avatar
schlepcycling
Posts: 1364
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:06 am

Re: Ultegra to Dura-Ace Di2

Postby schlepcycling » Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:35 am

I'm using the Di2 electronic bits with 105 for the rest and it all works perfectly if that helps.
'Hello to Jason Isaacs'


Return to “Workshop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests