bryton rider 35 question

What bike and bike bits should you buy?
stepdavi
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 13:06 pm

bryton rider 35 question

Postby stepdavi » Sat Feb 09, 2013 16:39 pm

I'm in 2 minds whether to get Bryon 35 or 50. I searched net and can't find answer to few questions. On the 35 is there a max distance for the planned routes you can upload to unit. Also is there a maximum number if waypoints on it? Has the 50 go the same altitude information that the 35 has?
2016 diamondback heist 2.0
2015 giant propel advanced 1
2015 Genesis day one disc ss
2014 giant roam 2

stepdavi
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 13:06 pm

Re: bryton rider 35 question

Postby stepdavi » Sun Feb 10, 2013 13:35 pm

Bump!
2016 diamondback heist 2.0
2015 giant propel advanced 1
2015 Genesis day one disc ss
2014 giant roam 2

PK1
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 07:37 am
Contact:

Re: bryton rider 35 question

Postby PK1 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 20:14 pm

The Rider 35 has now been discontinued with a Rider 21 ( No route planning at all). My Rider 35 stopped working after 18 months due to water ingress. As far as planning trips etc , the Rider 50 is much better as it has pre loaded maps. Both have a barometric altimeter and yes the altimeter info is the same.

User avatar
g00se
Posts: 2099
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 09:53 am

Re: bryton rider 35 question

Postby g00se » Mon Feb 11, 2013 00:33 am

The planned routes on the 35 are fairly basic (now superseded by the 40). There are no maps - just a low res, small outline of the route and other fields such as distance to next way-point and direction arrow.

User avatar
Rolf F
Posts: 13580
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 09:29 am

Re: bryton rider 35 question

Postby Rolf F » Mon Feb 11, 2013 09:59 am

I wasn't aware that the 35 was discontinued but the 40 is similar albeit in a rather better case.

I've not noticed maximum distances on any route I've tried to plot on either the 35 or 40 though in the past software glitches (now fixed) did limit distances to a degree that the functionality was effectively useless.

There is barometric altitude info on both units as PK1 says but I think it is pretty innaccurate compared to the digital terrain map info of the routes as plotted online.

The 50 is a very functional and effective unit when you need good navigation functionality but it is a bit bulky IMO for the majority of the time when you don't need it. The basic breadcrumb route the 40 gives works pretty well though the displayed scale varies a bt and sometimes goes to a small scale just when you need the detail! I tend, when using it, to expect the odd place where I take a wrong turning for a few yards and have to turn round - but I still prefer it most of the time to the 50.

As it happens, I've used the 50 in The Netherlands without base maps and it was barely harder to follow (and in some ways easier!) than with the base map. The presence of basemaps is mostly over-rated.
Faster than a tent.......

PK1
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 07:37 am
Contact:

Re: bryton rider 35 question

Postby PK1 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:10 am

Rolf F, I know you used to be on the Bryton Forum, has this now gone ? I just had my Rider 35 replaced with a Rider 21, it has a couple of bugs with sunrise and temp, do you know how to report them ?


Return to “Road Buying Advice”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lincolndave and 3 guests