Change Campag front mech without removing chain?

Ask for advice or share your fettling tips
CptKernow
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 11:52 am
Contact:

Change Campag front mech without removing chain?

Postby CptKernow » Fri Dec 07, 2012 14:34 pm

There's a screw on my Campag front mechs which I'd like to swap over. It seems pretty tight so I'm wondering is it worth undoing it and putting on the front mech this way, or do you think should I just take the chain off?
TIA

User avatar
Monty Dog
Posts: 20383
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 14:31 pm

Re: Change Campag front mech without removing chain?

Postby Monty Dog » Fri Dec 07, 2012 15:11 pm

If it's the screw at the back of the cage, then I have done this is in the past where the chain isn't fitted with a removeable-link.
Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..

CptKernow
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 11:52 am
Contact:

Re: Change Campag front mech without removing chain?

Postby CptKernow » Fri Dec 07, 2012 16:51 pm

Yep, that's the one. Just felt really stiff and I did't want to find out a) the chain didn't fit through or b) it'll come undone later.

Flexisurfer
Posts: 238
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 20:02 pm

Re: Change Campag front mech without removing chain?

Postby Flexisurfer » Fri Dec 07, 2012 18:11 pm

I've changed mine recently and you can take the screw out and open a gap up big enough to slip it over the chain. If you're worried about the screw coming undone then just add a very small blob of paint or nail varnish to the screw thread.

CptKernow
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 11:52 am
Contact:

Re: Change Campag front mech without removing chain?

Postby CptKernow » Fri Dec 07, 2012 19:33 pm

Thanks. Will give it a go.


Return to “Workshop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: COYS, Dork Knight, Webboo and 3 guests