Any Strava Experts

General bike chat that does not fit elsewhere
binsted
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 18:13 pm

Any Strava Experts

Postby binsted » Sun Feb 03, 2013 14:37 pm

I do a regular circuit but when I upload my data to Strava from my Garmin Edge it does not register one particular segment. No problem with any other segments but a bit infuriating when my training partner always manages to record a time, have checked the track and it matches my partners on his I-phone, cannot believe it is any sort go GPS glitch every time. Any ideas how I can get my Garmin Edge to recognise this segment. I have checked and it is not hidden.

User avatar
Charlie Potatoes
Posts: 1695
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 18:21 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby Charlie Potatoes » Sun Feb 03, 2013 14:45 pm

Does the segment fall within your privacy Zone?

Check your privacy settings on Strava.
"You really think you can burn off sugar with exercise?" downhill paul

binsted
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 18:13 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby binsted » Sun Feb 03, 2013 15:04 pm

Charlie Potatoes wrote:Does the segment fall within your privacy Zone?

Check your privacy settings on Strava.


No, miles away but thanks for the suggestion.

Coldcorn
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 08:55 am

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby Coldcorn » Sun Feb 03, 2013 15:09 pm

Sometimes there is "Show hidden segments" at the bottom of the page. That might help!
Bikes:
Felt F2 Di2 [2012]
Verenti Millook

binsted
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 18:13 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby binsted » Sun Feb 03, 2013 15:14 pm

Coldcorn wrote:Sometimes there is "Show hidden segments" at the bottom of the page. That might help!


Thanks already checked that, thinking I may try it with another device, quite baffling.

User avatar
ALIHISGREAT
Posts: 3918
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 15:43 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby ALIHISGREAT » Sun Feb 03, 2013 15:21 pm

can you link the ride and the segment so we can have a look?

User avatar
deadhead1971
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby deadhead1971 » Sun Feb 03, 2013 15:43 pm

I've seen this before and it was due to the poor quality of the gpx track as recorded by an iPhone 4S.
Does your track deviate from the actual route you took?
Alan
http://www.scarletfire.co.uk

--------------

The best cycling cafés, all on one map, and reviewed by cyclists just like us!
http://thecyclecafe.net

binsted
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 18:13 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby binsted » Sun Feb 03, 2013 15:55 pm

ALIHISGREAT wrote:can you link the ride and the segment so we can have a look?


Not sure how to do this. I have submitted a request to Strava with the details for them to have a look, I will report back when they reply.

binsted
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 18:13 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby binsted » Sun Feb 03, 2013 15:58 pm

deadhead1971 wrote:I've seen this before and it was due to the poor quality of the gpx track as recorded by an iPhone 4S.
Does your track deviate from the actual route you took?


No, the tracks are identical, interestingly my training partners i-phone 4S recorded it perfectly it was my expensive Garmin that will not recognise it. Have now ridden the segment 6 times and it has never recognised the segment.

Coldcorn
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 08:55 am

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby Coldcorn » Sun Feb 03, 2013 16:04 pm

Another thought - is the segment private? I.e. your partner created it and kept it private rather than public? That would explain something.
Bikes:
Felt F2 Di2 [2012]
Verenti Millook

binsted
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 18:13 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby binsted » Sun Feb 03, 2013 16:30 pm

Coldcorn wrote:Another thought - is the segment private? I.e. your partner created it and kept it private rather than public? That would explain something.


Not a private segment.

gloomyandy
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 16:19 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby gloomyandy » Sun Feb 03, 2013 16:39 pm

Do other riders using a Garmin show up on the segment?

binsted
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 18:13 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby binsted » Sun Feb 03, 2013 16:57 pm

gloomyandy wrote:Do other riders using a Garmin show up on the segment?



There are 165 people listed on the segment. I assume some must use a Garmin, is this information available on Strava? I am certainly no expert.

Coldcorn
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 08:55 am

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby Coldcorn » Sun Feb 03, 2013 17:00 pm

It sometimes displays the rider info on their ride metadata. Whats the segment url?
Bikes:
Felt F2 Di2 [2012]
Verenti Millook

binsted
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 18:13 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby binsted » Sun Feb 03, 2013 17:50 pm

Coldcorn wrote:It sometimes displays the rider info on their ride metadata. Whats the segment url?


http://app.strava.com/segments/1505036

User avatar
Cleat Eastwood
Posts: 7720
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 23:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby Cleat Eastwood » Sun Feb 03, 2013 18:15 pm

Going by that quite a few are using garmins - 705's 800's forerunners even - you could open the gpx file in a text editor, its simply an xml file and compare it to your mates to see if the ride is actually being recorded on that section
The dissenter is every human being at those moments of his life when he resigns
momentarily from the herd and thinks for himself.

User avatar
ShutUpLegs
Posts: 3519
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 19:07 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby ShutUpLegs » Sun Feb 03, 2013 18:59 pm

binsted wrote:No, the tracks are identical, interestingly my training partners i-phone 4S recorded it perfectly it was my expensive Garmin that will not recognise it.


Are there any garmins more expensive than an iPhone :?:
I Like Black Bikes

User avatar
deadhead1971
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby deadhead1971 » Mon Feb 04, 2013 19:45 pm

binsted wrote:No, the tracks are identical, interestingly my training partners i-phone 4S recorded it perfectly it was my expensive Garmin that will not recognise it. Have now ridden the segment 6 times and it has never recognised the segment.


Looking at the segment you posted, it doesn't look like it follows the road very well, and there are parts where the points are quite far apart, joined by straight lines, suggesting a low sampling rate. Perhaps the problem is the other way round - the segment could have been created by an iphone, and the accuracy of your garmin is making it miss the segment?
who knows?
You could always flag it to get it removed, then re-create it based on an accurate track.
Alan
http://www.scarletfire.co.uk

--------------

The best cycling cafés, all on one map, and reviewed by cyclists just like us!
http://thecyclecafe.net

User avatar
Mikey23
Posts: 5206
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:51 pm

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby Mikey23 » Mon Feb 04, 2013 21:42 pm

I have this issue as a friend created a segment from an iPhone and it is very blocky and finishes in the middle of a factory. I can't follow it on my 500 and nor can anyone else. Good way to get KOM methinks

Slowbike
Posts: 5049
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 09:26 am

Re: Any Strava Experts

Postby Slowbike » Mon Feb 04, 2013 22:59 pm

Just create your own duplicate segment from one of your rides.


Return to “Road General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ben@31, Gasaero, MrB123 and 5 guests