SRM/Power meter advice

When drugs don't work: training and health tips!
Markwb79
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 19:40 pm

SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Markwb79 » Thu Apr 04, 2013 07:19 am

Hi,

I have finally decided to get a SRM power meter and I was wondering if anyone had any tips for setting up and using it!

I have gone for the FSA Gossamer.

Does anyone use them with 11speed Campag? I have bought replacement FSA chain rings.
I have also bought the press fit BB as it is going on a BB86 frame
When setting up the PC7, do you record all the data every second? 3 seconds? I have seen different settings for this.
I understand they come calibrated, but I need to do the zero offset?
Swapping from one frame to another? How often do people do this?


Any other tips/suggestions? or things I might not have thought about?

Thanks in advance
Mark
Scott Addict 2011
Giant TCR 2012

Spikeoz
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 23:38 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Spikeoz » Thu Apr 04, 2013 08:31 am

Advice based on using a powertap, diffrent system but basics are the same.

-Get it setup right and make sure your adjustemnts are all done, then just ride for a few weeks, log the data but don't look at it, get a baseline of data

-My system self zero's when i start up, just do teh same thing every time i say!

-Understand power training, read read and then re-read, test your self regularly, i do this every 8-9 weeks, 2 x 20 minute intervals on the trainer.

-Have a plan for using the powermeter, it's a great tool but useless if your not using it properly!

-i record every second

-Ride then ride, then after that ride

Mccaria
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Mccaria » Thu Apr 04, 2013 08:34 am

Run mine with Shimano, so can't help on the Campag.

Setting up the SRM was pretty straight forward, the instructions booklet is good and it is useful to keep the little booklet on the PC7 close by for the first few sessions.

I reset the zero offset before every session, but it is really easy to do. Once the PC7 and the SRM are talking to each other, set the cranks parallel to the ground, then just press the middle (mode) and right buttons (set) together and it goes to the zero offset screen. Once it comes up with a value, press the middle (mode) button to store and you are done.

One tip. The default setting for the PC7 has the screen display changing every few seconds, which can be frustrating if you are doing a work-out focused on maintaining a given power output/rpm etc. Once you download the software, you can attach the PC7 to the computer and under the options menu you can lock the screen display, which I found helpful

Ric/RSTSport
Posts: 612
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 21:53 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Ric/RSTSport » Thu Apr 04, 2013 09:03 am

Spikeoz wrote:Advice based on using a powertap, diffrent system but basics are the same.
-My system self zero's when i start up, just do teh same thing every time i say!

-Have a plan for using the powermeter, it's a great tool but useless if your not using it properly!


To clarify, if you're using a power tap you still need to manually zero the offset every ride. the power tap only zeroes the offset if it's slightly wrong (i can't recall the spec on this). If you're taking it from say a warm house to cold outdoors it'll need about 20-mins to stabilise to the new temp and to be zeroed.

if you just use a power meter as a fancy speedo it won't do much for you. we can help speed up the learning process with coaching programmes and training plans

cheers
ric
Coach to Michael Freiberg - Track World Champion (Omnium) 2011
Coach to Jeff Jones - 2011 BBAR winner and 12-hour record
Check out our new website www.rstsport.com

Markwb79
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 19:40 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Markwb79 » Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:06 am

I am not that silly with my money and it hasnt been bought as a fancy speedo!

Thanks for the advice so far, other than racing and training with a power meter, are there any other good books or online resources?

Cheers Ric, but as for getting a coach, that will have to wait for now!

Thanks
Mark
Scott Addict 2011
Giant TCR 2012

User avatar
APIII
Posts: 1978
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 13:09 pm
Contact:

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby APIII » Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:29 am

I have the FSA K Force SRM from 2008. I think it was one of the first wireless powermeters they released, but even so it's proved to be very reliable. When I had it serviced last year they put new 11 speed rings on, but I'm still running 10 speed Campag (it works fine). I would also suggest setting it at 1 second recording.
I don't know much about the gossamer crank, but swapping mine is not a five minute job, so I just keep it on the same bike. I think if I were buying again I'd either take a deep breath and get the campagnolo version, or the Rotor, as both would be much easier to swap.

Markwb79
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 19:40 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Markwb79 » Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:46 am

haha, I agree on that one, the Campag one would be the easiest to swap out. But it would need quite a deep breath!

Is yours the wired version FSA one?

5 years is certainly some good use and a lot easier to justify the money!
Scott Addict 2011
Giant TCR 2012

User avatar
APIII
Posts: 1978
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 13:09 pm
Contact:

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby APIII » Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:03 pm

It's the wireless version. Tbh, at the start I did get a few data dropouts, but I think that was caused by the garmin head unit as various firmware updates seem to have cured it.

Markwb79
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 19:40 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Markwb79 » Fri Apr 05, 2013 08:26 am

Is it possible to use the Garmin sensor instead of the SRM one?

Thanks
Scott Addict 2011
Giant TCR 2012

User avatar
sungod
Posts: 6658
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 13:52 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby sungod » Sat Apr 06, 2013 18:50 pm

you mean using a garmin gsc 10 just for speed? probably will, the simplest way is try it and see if it pairs

fwiw...

a garmin hrb1b strap works fine with pc7

for speed i use one of these...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/VDO-Speed-Trans ... B001CY6GOC

you can get device compatibility info from the ant+ directory...

http://www.thisisant.com/directory/powercontrol-7/

mine is set to log at 0.5 seconds, the memory is huge so might as well take advantage of the resolution

btw if you experience curious 'blackouts' on some roads, where the display goes to zero and logged data has a few seconds gap, it can be caused by some speed radars, took me a while to figure out what was up, thought my pc7 was faulty at first

aside from that the pc7 is really bombproof, cooked, frozen, drowned, dropped, it just keeps on going
my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny

Mccaria
Posts: 863
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Mccaria » Sun Apr 07, 2013 08:04 am

Sungod,

That's interesting on the radar. I use my SRM/PC7 on the turbo and use wireless headphones linked to the TV. Using the wireless headphones does interfere with the PC7 picking up data from the SRM.

Markwb79
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 19:40 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Markwb79 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 08:24 am

It should finally be arriving today. Cant wait now!

When riding, what is the best gap to view power? does it average it over 3secs, or is it best to have it every 0.5seconds too?
Scott Addict 2011
Giant TCR 2012

User avatar
sungod
Posts: 6658
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 13:52 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby sungod » Wed Apr 17, 2013 08:52 am

record at 0.5s, then you have best raw data

view at 2-3s, otherwise the display jumps around too much
my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny

Markwb79
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 19:40 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Markwb79 » Thu Apr 18, 2013 20:31 pm

sungod wrote:record at 0.5s, then you have best raw data

view at 2-3s, otherwise the display jumps around too much


Hopefully my last question on the topic!

I think I am ready to go, but I cant see where to change the setting to view the power at 2-3s?
Scott Addict 2011
Giant TCR 2012

User avatar
Alex_Simmons/RST
Posts: 3725
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 08:19 am

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Alex_Simmons/RST » Thu Apr 18, 2013 22:47 pm

Markwb79 wrote:
sungod wrote:record at 0.5s, then you have best raw data

view at 2-3s, otherwise the display jumps around too much


Hopefully my last question on the topic!

I think I am ready to go, but I cant see where to change the setting to view the power at 2-3s?

SRMwin - powercontrol set up - special - smoothing interval

On an SRM, the smoothing of displayed power is not by seconds but by number of crank revolutions.

Markwb79
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 19:40 pm

Re: SRM/Power meter advice

Postby Markwb79 » Fri Apr 19, 2013 06:01 am

Thanks a lot
Scott Addict 2011
Giant TCR 2012


Return to “Training, Fitness and Health”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cdrewery and 3 guests