Garmin Edge 500: Locating Satellites

General bike chat that does not fit elsewhere
charliew87
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 20:56 pm

Garmin Edge 500: Locating Satellites

Postby charliew87 » Tue Jun 18, 2013 13:13 pm

Have had my Garmin Edge 500 for a few months now.

Still takes ages 'Locating Satellites', sometimes 5+ minutes even if I'm outside away from any buildings. Have the same issue in Central London & Surrey...it always gets there in the end and sometimes only takes 30 seconds, is this normal, or is there something I should do to fix this?
Canyon AL Ultimate 9.0

elbowloh
Posts: 942
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 13:53 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500: Locating Satellites

Postby elbowloh » Tue Jun 18, 2013 13:15 pm

I have the 800 and I think this is actually quite normal...unfortunately.
Felt F1 2014
Felt Z6 2012
Red Arthur Caygill steel frame ??
Tall....

AchillesLeftKnee
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 21:02 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500: Locating Satellites

Postby AchillesLeftKnee » Tue Jun 18, 2013 13:43 pm

My 800 is taking longer to find satellites this year than it did last year, that's for sure.

A bit of Google digging shows there's a GPS satellite that's not playing ball at the moment (PRN 30, since March), and it apparently affects our area. Given that the Edge will wait until it's got a decent fix before giving the okay to do, it might be that it's taking longer to get a fix because it's needing to use less convenient satellites.

Okay, so that's probably guff, but hopefully someone who knows a bit more about GPS will be able to offer some sort of extra explanation (such as "ALK, your'e taking rubbish again").
Mangeur

gloomyandy
Posts: 474
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 16:19 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500: Locating Satellites

Postby gloomyandy » Tue Jun 18, 2013 13:59 pm

Also depends on how often you use it and if you use it from the same location. Basically when you turn the device off it remembers a bunch of stuff that will help it reacquire the location next time you turn it on. The longer the gap between turning off and back on, and the larger the distance between off and on, the less use this cached data is. So get home in the evening turn your Garmin off, get up next day and turn it back on, it will be reasonably fast. Do the same but wait a week and it will take longer. Similarly turn it off at home, drive a few hundred miles and turn it on and again it will take longer.

rpherts
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 09:38 am

Re: Garmin Edge 500: Locating Satellites

Postby rpherts » Tue Jun 18, 2013 16:06 pm

Yes, mine finds them in 15-30 seconds at home. My Forerunner, though, takes a ridiculous amount of time regardless of location or frequency of use - 5-7 minutes is not unusual. Pleasant in the middle of winter when you are standing around in running shorts...

gubber12345
Posts: 419
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 20:00 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500: Locating Satellites

Postby gubber12345 » Tue Jun 18, 2013 20:33 pm

mine has them picked up in less than a couple of mins every time,but if that's right what gloomyandy says then that's why as I use mine every other day from the same location.
cannondale supersix

thescouselander
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 10:47 am

Re: Garmin Edge 500: Locating Satellites

Postby thescouselander » Tue Jun 18, 2013 21:12 pm

Have you done a firmware update recently? There is a file that helps the unit locate the satellites faster and this needs updating sometimes.

User avatar
Mechanism
Posts: 538
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 20:57 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500: Locating Satellites

Postby Mechanism » Wed Jun 19, 2013 07:43 am

The way I see it, if you're hiding your home location in Strava then it doesn't matter if you set off before the unit knows where it is. Doesn't help much if you're starting away from home however.


Return to “Road General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: homers double, MugenSi, Prhymeate and 5 guests