Garmin Edge 500 Problems

Come and join in the banter: discuss here anything you want, whether bike related or not!
Headhuunter
Posts: 6334
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:16 am

Garmin Edge 500 Problems

Postby Headhuunter » Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:20 am

I went to Garmin Connect to upload a couple of rides yesterday and the websites advised me to update the software and firmware which I did. Now the website will not upload new activities.

It starts the process and the little blue bar starts to fill in, telling me to wait whilst it reads activities but it never manages to complete the process as it used to. Yesterday I left it reading for about an hour and the little blue bar didn't go any further across the screen. This morning I tried again, I turned the 500 on and off and plugged it into the computer and the same - the blue bar moves part way across the screen but won't complete the upload process.

Yesterday I uploaded the same rides to Strava which also couldn't complete the upload process, however Strava has an option to upload manually which I used and it worked fine. I just want to know why the Garmin uploader thingumy no longer works as it used to for both Strava and Garmin...

Anyone had this problem?
Do not write below this line. Office use only.

shortcuts
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 15:10 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500 Problems

Postby shortcuts » Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:50 am

Do you have your activities on an SD card? If so I find I have to manually upload, which you CAN do on Garmin Connect.

User avatar
Cleat Eastwood
Posts: 7720
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 23:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Garmin Edge 500 Problems

Postby Cleat Eastwood » Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:09 pm

I was going to update as per their 'warning' but the update only seemed to alter a font or some such nonsense so I left it.

I googled a bit and found a few who had your problem so seems a wise choice on my part - if its any help I came across this on my search

"I did a reset on the device (Hold the Power, Stop / Start and Enter keys until the screen goes blank). Seems to have fixed it."

the full post is here
The dissenter is every human being at those moments of his life when he resigns
momentarily from the herd and thinks for himself.

Headhuunter
Posts: 6334
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:16 am

Re: Garmin Edge 500 Problems

Postby Headhuunter » Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:09 pm

shortcuts wrote:Do you have your activities on an SD card? If so I find I have to manually upload, which you CAN do on Garmin Connect.

No all activities are on the device itself. I've actually managed to do a manual upload now but it annoys me that the upload thing doesn't work like it used to after I updated the firmware and software as Garmin itself advised!
Do not write below this line. Office use only.

shortcuts
Posts: 355
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 15:10 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500 Problems

Postby shortcuts » Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:20 pm

Headhuunter wrote:
shortcuts wrote:Do you have your activities on an SD card? If so I find I have to manually upload, which you CAN do on Garmin Connect.

No all activities are on the device itself. I've actually managed to do a manual upload now but it annoys me that the upload thing doesn't work like it used to after I updated the firmware and software as Garmin itself advised!

Ah okay. Just a thought as I have to manually upload to Garmin Connect on my Edge 800 since I started storing on the SD card. Can't help then I am afraid. Good luck.

Headhuunter
Posts: 6334
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:16 am

Re: Garmin Edge 500 Problems

Postby Headhuunter » Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:24 pm

Cleat Eastwood wrote:I was going to update as per their 'warning' but the update only seemed to alter a font or some such nonsense so I left it.

I googled a bit and found a few who had your problem so seems a wise choice on my part - if its any help I came across this on my search

"I did a reset on the device (Hold the Power, Stop / Start and Enter keys until the screen goes blank). Seems to have fixed it."

the full post is here

Just tried to do the hard reset but it doesn't work! Screen didn't go blank - nothing happened...
Do not write below this line. Office use only.

cyclingprop
Posts: 2358
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 20:58 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500 Problems

Postby cyclingprop » Sun Jun 23, 2013 14:43 pm

Or try clearing out all of your activities and resetting through the on screen menu. Mine had a problem with one of the activities then when cleared, hey presto it worked. And it was much quicker.
What do you mean you think 64cm is a big frame?


Return to “Commuting Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests