Can I switch Shimano wheels to Campag?

Ask for advice or share your fettling tips
charliegirl74
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:00 am

Can I switch Shimano wheels to Campag?

Postby charliegirl74 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:48 am

Hi Peeps,

I've just bought new bike which I love dearly.. Althought I would like to upgrade the wheels. (Standard ones on bike are very much that).

However pennies being pinched after buying said bike this needs to wait a wee while - plus need to do research.

In the meantime I have Mavic Krysium Equipe which I had on my Trek which I have considered putting on new bike, only think is wheels are Shimano and new bike has Camapg... is there anything I can do with this?

Any advice greatly received.

Thanks muchly,
Charlie

User avatar
Me-109
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 15:39 pm

Re: Can I switch Shimano wheels to Campag?

Postby Me-109 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:04 pm

I think you can change the freehub on the Mavics.

Yes, with a quick Google you can. About £40 (other providers are available).

charliegirl74
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Can I switch Shimano wheels to Campag?

Postby charliegirl74 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:08 pm

Thanks Me-109!

I was hoping would be case of changing the freehub.. now to decide whether to gor for it or hold out for new wheels.

Decisions, decisons.... :)

User avatar
g00se
Posts: 2099
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 09:53 am

Re: Can I switch Shimano wheels to Campag?

Postby g00se » Tue Sep 24, 2013 15:09 pm

Another option is a shimano-splined cassette with campag spacing (ambrosio do one) - but the freehub is a more-elegant option and gives you a wider range of options.

User avatar
brucey72
Posts: 1025
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 09:12 am

Re: Can I switch Shimano wheels to Campag?

Postby brucey72 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 19:16 pm

Will this work?

http://jtekengineering.com/shiftmate.php

I have two bikes, one has a campag groupset the other has a shimano groupset and I bought one of these so that I can run campag wheels (with campag cassette) on my shimano bike. It works very well and is an alternative to the change of freehub/ambrosio cassette option. I didn't get mine from the USA so will try and dig out the link and post back later.

User avatar
brucey72
Posts: 1025
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 09:12 am

Re: Can I switch Shimano wheels to Campag?

Postby brucey72 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 19:23 pm

Right, I have just checked and I got mine from these guys:

http://www.thetandemshop.com/catalogsea ... =shiftmate

I paid £27.99 a couple of years ago.

charliegirl74
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Can I switch Shimano wheels to Campag?

Postby charliegirl74 » Wed Sep 25, 2013 09:18 am

Thanks g00se and Brucey!

It all sounds very technical (for my non-technical head). I need to think about if it's worth the pain or just hang on.. as would need to switch exisitng Camapg wheels to Shimano too..


Return to “Workshop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dieselgeezer and 5 guests