Garmin Edge 500 - Courses question

New to Cycling? Want some advice? Start here...
Capt.Ramjet
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:59 am

Garmin Edge 500 - Courses question

Postby Capt.Ramjet » Sat Nov 30, 2013 20:34 pm

Hi all, I hope this is the right spot for this post.

I have a new Edge 500 and have a question regarding courses. I live a few miles from Richmond Park. I want to be able to start timing and recording my ride on the GPS from home, but once I get to the park start a 'course' around the park that tracks my lap times and also uses Virtual Partner. Once I've finished my laps I want to stop the course and then head home, only stopping the GPS recording when I get home. i.e. I want to start a course in the middle of a recorded ride.

Hopefully I explained that OK. Do any Garmin Edge owners have any advice if this is possible and how?

Many thanks :)

mk1fish
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 14:43 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500 - Courses question

Postby mk1fish » Sat Nov 30, 2013 21:14 pm

Only way you can do it I believe is to stop the GPS, reset and go again and record as a separate activity.

gubber12345
Posts: 419
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 20:00 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500 - Courses question

Postby gubber12345 » Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:58 am

mk1fish wrote:Only way you can do it I believe is to stop the GPS, reset and go again and record as a separate activity.

this is what I was thinking to....cant see how you can incorporate 2/3 rides into one.stop and reset each time is the only way I can see.....could be wrong tho!!!!!
cannondale supersix

User avatar
Mike67
Posts: 537
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 21:12 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500 - Courses question

Postby Mike67 » Sun Dec 01, 2013 15:42 pm

It's kind of doable.

1. Start you're ride and Garmin from home.
2. Start the course in your Garmin once you reach the park to allow the virtual partner 'chasing'.
The tricky bit is getting a separate time/laps over the course.
Two options I can think of:

1. Press the lap button on your Garmin each time you come around (hopefully you have autolap switched off) and add the lap times together at the end to give your total time, or

2. Upload your whole ride to Strava or such like which will hopefully have a segment that coincides with your lap. If not you can create one and make it private to make life easier. All your individual lap times can then be seen. You should also be able to select the section of ride that coincides with your laps to give the total time for all laps.
Mike B

Cannondale CAAD9
Kinesis Pro 5 cross bike
Lots of bits

Capt.Ramjet
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 11:59 am

Re: Garmin Edge 500 - Courses question

Postby Capt.Ramjet » Sun Dec 01, 2013 20:47 pm

Many thanks for the replies. I will experiment with this. Using Strava is a good idea.

User avatar
Mikey23
Posts: 5206
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 16:51 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500 - Courses question

Postby Mikey23 » Sun Dec 01, 2013 22:18 pm

Page 15 of the manual suggests that you can do this but vp starts as soon as you start. I would have thought this should be doable but not needed to so not thought it out. Have you checked out dcrainmaker? He has produced some excellent stuff on the 500

cougie
Posts: 19028
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 22:34 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500 - Courses question

Postby cougie » Mon Dec 02, 2013 11:15 am

I'd just do the strava thing myself rather than all the stop starting mallarkey.

User avatar
BigMat
Posts: 4649
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 13:47 pm

Re: Garmin Edge 500 - Courses question

Postby BigMat » Mon Dec 02, 2013 15:22 pm

Mike67 wrote:It's kind of doable.

1. Start you're ride and Garmin from home.
2. Start the course in your Garmin once you reach the park to allow the virtual partner 'chasing'.
The tricky bit is getting a separate time/laps over the course.
Two options I can think of:

1. Press the lap button on your Garmin each time you come around (hopefully you have autolap switched off) and add the lap times together at the end to give your total time, or

2. Upload your whole ride to Strava or such like which will hopefully have a segment that coincides with your lap. If not you can create one and make it private to make life easier. All your individual lap times can then be seen. You should also be able to select the section of ride that coincides with your laps to give the total time for all laps.



Please God, because we really don't need any more RP lap segments...


Return to “Road Beginners”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests