Tour Series: Dean Downing tops podium at round two

Rapha-Condor win team prize at Exeter leg of new UK series

On a classic street circuit packed with sharp turns, narrowing straights and fans banging the boards, Rapha-Condor rider Dean Downing emerged victorious at the end of a frenetic hour’s racing at round two of the UK's new Tour Series.

Fine weather, a carnival atmosphere and huge crowds greeted the riders as the urban road race series continued in Exeter yesterday evening.

Mid-way through the action a group of a dozen riders, including Downing and Olympian Ed Clancy, had formed. In the last 200 metres Downing, the 2008 National Circuit Champion, emerged from the pack to take the win.

Rapha-Condor won the team prize on the night, with Downing, Tom Southam and Kristian House making up the winning trio.

After two races of the 10-round Tour Series, Candi TV – Marshalls Pasta retained the overall team leaders’ jerseys, with Rapha-Condor in second and Plowman Craven in third.

Full results are available on the Tour Series website. The next round is in Woking on Tuesday (2 June).

Individual results

1 Dean Downing (Rapha – Condor)

2 Jeroen Janssen (Plowman Craven – Madison)

3 Rob Hayles (Halfords Bikehut)

4 Graham Briggs (Candi TV – Marshalls Pasta)

5 Yanto Barker (Sigma Sport Specialized Sportful)

6 Andy Tennant (Halfords Bikehut)

7 Tom Southam (Rapha – Condor)

8 Simon Holt (Candi TV – Marshalls Pasta)

9 Matthew Higgins (Team Corley Cycles)

10 Kristian House (Rapha – Condor)

Team results

1 Rapha – Condor                                      

2 Team Halfords Bikehut                               

3 Candi TV – Marshalls Pasta                                                  

4 Plowman Craven – Madison                    

5 Sports Beans – Wilier

6 Sigma Sport Cycling Team

7 Team Corley Cycles                                          

8 BMC UK Racing Team                                                  


10 Endura Racing

Team standings after round two

1 Candi TV – Marshalls Pasta

2 Rapha – Condor                                      

3 Plowman Craven – Madison

4 Team Halfords Bikehut                                                       

5 Sports Beans – Wilier

6 BMC UK Racing Team

7 Sigma Sport Cycling Team

8 Team Corley Cycles                          


10 Endura Racing

Candi TV – Marshalls Pasta are leading the team competition after round two of the series

Related Articles


Back to top