Stage 7: S.Benedetto del Tronto - S.Benedetto del Tronto 176km


Tuesday, March 18, 2008 4.33pm

Francesco Chicchi wins final stage in San Benedetto del Tronto

Switzerland's Fabian Cancellara of the CSC team held on to win the 43rd edition of the Tirreno-Adriatico following Tuesday's seventh and final stage.

Italian Francesco Chicchi of Liquigas won the 176km run around San Benedetto del Tronto.

The 26-year-old Swiss, the current double world time-trial champion, kept hold of the leader's blue jersey and set himself up as one of the favourites for Saturday's Milan-San Remo.

For full results, report and photos, visit

© AFP 2008


1 Francesco Chicchi (Ita|Liquigas)
2 Danilo Napolitano (Ita|Lampre)
3 Mark Cavendish (GBr|High Road)
4 Robbie McEwen (Aus|Silence-Lotto)
5 Danilo Hondo (Ger|Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Androni Giocattoli)
6 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg|CSF Group Navigare)
7 Alexandre Usov (Blr|Ag2r-La Mondiale)
8 José Joaquín Rojas (Spa|Caisse d'Epargne)
9 Erik Zabel (Ger|Team Milram)
10 Baden Cooke (Aus|Barloworld)
Final general classification
1 Fabian Cancellara (Swi|Team CSC)

Tirreno - Adriatico Stages

The world is for... Racing

BikeRadar's racing news comes direct from our sister site,, the world's leading source of cycling news.

For even more in-depth coverage of racing visit