Qatar 2: Boonen makes his mark

Quick.Step dominate opening stages

Belgium's Tom Boonen won the second stage of the Tour of Qatar in Doha on Monday sprinting home ahead of compatriot Greg Van Avermaet and Italy's Danilo Napolitano after a 137.5km ride from Al Zubarah to Doha Golf Club.

The win allowed Boonen of Quick Step to take the overall lead from his Quick Step team-mate Italian Matteo Tosatto. The Belgian now has a 9sec lead over Dutchman Steven De Jongh with another Van Avermaet 5sec further back.

Tosatto drops to tenth with 32sec to make up after Boonen triumphed in 2hr 28min 37sec in a sprint finish, edging out compatriot Greg Van Avermaet, Italian Danilo Napolitano (Ita), Aussie Christopher Sutton, Belgian Jurgen Roelandts, Frenchman Alexandre Pichot and Dutchman Steven De Jongh.

© AFP 2008


1 Tom Boonen (Bel|Quick Step)2:28:37(55.50km/h)
2 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel|Silence - Lotto)  
3 Danilo Napolitano (Ita|Lampre)  
4 Christopher Sutton (Aus|Slipstream p/b Chipotle)  
5 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel|Silence - Lotto)  
6 Alexandre Pichot (Fra|Bouygues Telecom)  
7 Steven De Jongh (Ned|Quick Step)  
8 Maarten Tjallingii (Ned|Silence - Lotto)0:00:07 
9 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel|Quick Step)  
10 Matteo Tosatto (Ita|Quick Step)0:00:20 
Madinat Al Shamal - 21.5km  
1 Steven De Jongh (Ned|Quick Step)3pts
2 Tom Veelers (Ned|Skil-Shimano)2 
3 Matteo Tosatto (Ita|Quick Step)1 
Umm Suwaiya - 91.0km  
1 Tom Boonen (Bel|Quick Step)3pts
2 Tom Veelers (Ned|Skil-Shimano)2 
3 Steven De Jongh (Ned|Quick Step)1 
Doha Golf Club - 137.5km  
1 Tom Boonen (Bel|Quick Step)30pts
2 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel|Silence - Lotto)27 
3 Danilo Napolitano (Ita|Lampre)25 
4 Christopher Sutton (Aus|Slipstream p/b Chipotle)23 
5 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel|Silence - Lotto)21 
6 Alexandre Pichot (Fra|Bouygues Telecom)19 
7 Steven De Jongh (Ned|Quick Step)17 
8 Maarten Tjallingii (Ned|Silence - Lotto)15 
9 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel|Quick Step)13 
10 Matteo Tosatto (Ita|Quick Step)11 
Young rider  
1 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel|Silence - Lotto)2:28:37 
2 Christopher Sutton (Aus|Slipstream p/b Chipotle)  
3 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel|Silence - Lotto)  
4 Alexandre Pichot (Fra|Bouygues Telecom)  
5 Robert Wagner (Ger|Skil-Shimano)0:00:40 
6 Wouter Weylandt (Bel|Quick Step)0:00:45 
7 Tom Veelers (Ned|Skil-Shimano)  
8 Ignatas Konovalovas (Ltu|Credit Agricole)  
9 Floris Goesinnen (Ned|Skil-Shimano)  
10 Evert Verbist (Bel|Topsport Vlaanderen)0:03:32 
1 Silence-Lotto7:25:58 
2 Quick.Step - Innergetic  
3 Skil-Shimano0:02:03 
4 Crédit Agricole0:02:08 
5 Bouygues Telecom0:04:10 
6 Topsport Vlaanderen0:07:42 
7 Milram  
8 Saunier Duval-Scott  
9 BMC Racing Team  
10 Liquigas  
General classification after stage 2  
1 Tom Boonen (Bel|Quick Step)2:34:59 
2 Steven De Jongh (Ned|Quick Step)0:00:09 
3 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel|Silence - Lotto)0:00:14 
4 Christopher Sutton (Aus|Slipstream p/b Chipotle)0:00:15 
5 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel|Quick Step)0:00:20 
6 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel|Silence - Lotto)  
7 Danilo Napolitano (Ita|Lampre)0:00:21 
8 Alexandre Pichot (Fra|Bouygues Telecom)0:00:26 
9 Maarten Tjallingii (Ned|Silence - Lotto)0:00:27 
10 Matteo Tosatto (Ita|Quick Step)0:00:32 
Points classification  
1 Tom Boonen (Bel|Quick Step)33pts
2 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel|Silence - Lotto)27 
3 Danilo Napolitano (Ita|Lampre)25 
4 Christopher Sutton (Aus|Slipstream p/b Chipotle)23 
5 Steven De Jongh (Ned|Quick Step)21 
6 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel|Silence - Lotto)21 
7 Alexandre Pichot (Fra|Bouygues Telecom)19 
8 Maarten Tjallingii (Ned|Silence - Lotto)15 
9 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel|Quick Step)13 
10 Matteo Tosatto (Ita|Quick Step)12 
Young rider classification  
1 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel|Silence - Lotto)2:35:13 
2 Christopher Sutton (Aus|Slipstream p/b Chipotle)0:00:01 
3 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel|Silence - Lotto)0:00:06 
4 Alexandre Pichot (Fra|Bouygues Telecom)0:00:12 
5 Robert Wagner (Ger|Skil-Shimano)0:00:44 
6 Tom Veelers (Ned|Skil-Shimano)0:00:45 
7 Floris Goesinnen (Ned|Skil-Shimano)0:00:49 
8 Ignatas Konovalovas (Ltu|Credit Agricole)0:00:53 
9 Wouter Weylandt (Bel|Quick Step)0:01:05 
10 Maciej Bodnar (Pol|Liquigas)0:03:37 
Teams classification  
1 Quick Step7:32:33 
2 Silence-Lotto0:00:07 
3 Skil-Shimano0:02:08 
4 Crédit Agricole0:02:17 
5 Bouygues Telecom0:04:23 
6 Liquigas0:07:48 
7 Topsport Vlaanderen0:07:54 
8 Team Milram0:07:55 
9 BMC Racing Team  
10 Saunier Duval-Scott0:08:00 

For full results & more see

Back to top