Stage 9: Frosinone - Cava de' Tirreni 189km

By AFP &

Monday, May 17, 2010 3.03pm

Vinokourov keeps control of pink jersey

Australian rider Matthew Goss won the ninth stage of the Tour of Italy on Monday, a 187 kilometres ride from Frosinone to Cava de' Tirreni, recording his country's third success in the race this year.

Kazakh veteran Alexandre Vinokourov retained the overall leader's pink jersey while Australia's road race world champion Cadel Evans is in second place.

Goss, 23, who finished second in the second stage of this year's edition, beat home Italian champion Filippo Pozzato while American Tyler Farrar was third in a sprint finish that was unusually contested also by Evans and Vinokourov.

"It's my greatest victory. A stage on a big tour, that counts!" said Goss. "I'm not a sprinter like (Mark) Cavendish, I need more difficult conditions like those today."

Pozzato added: "Another difficult stage. The rain doesn't stop. I didn't like the finish."

Russian rider Mikhail Ignatiev had tried to make a clean break 10km from the finish along with Canada's Michael Barry before being swept up five kilometres later.

The peloton while pursuing the duo had been briefly cut in two 15km from the finish as Vinokourov's Astana team upped the pace forcing Evans and another rival for the overall crown Italian Ivan Basso to chase them down.

Tuesday's 10th stage sees the race reach its southernmost point with the 230km ride from Avellino to Bitonto.

© AFP 2010


1 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Team HTC - Columbia 4:08:17
2 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Team Katusha
3 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin - Transitions
4 Robert Förster (Ger) Team Milram
5 Federico Canuti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
6 Sebastien Hinault (Ag2R-La Mondiale)
7 Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quick Step
8 Gregory Henderson (NZl) Sky Professional Cycling Team
9 Jos van Emden (Ned) Rabobank
10 Markus Eibegger (Swi) Footon-Servetto-Fuji
General Classification after stage 9
1 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Astana 33:09:43
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:01:12
3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas - Doimo 0:01:33
4 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 0:01:51
5 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Team HTC-Columbia 0:02:17
6 Richie Porte (Aus) Team Saxo Bank 0:02:26
7 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Team Katusha 0:02:34
8 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone 0:02:47

Giro d'Italia Stages

The world is for... Racing

BikeRadar's racing news comes direct from our sister site,, the world's leading source of cycling news.

For even more in-depth coverage of racing visit