By BikeRadar

Monday, May 18, 2009 9.30am

Jonnier leads women's World Cup

Steve Peat stormed to his second World Cup downhill victory in a row yesterday, and in the process ensured his place in the record books.

The Brit's 17th podium top-spot means he has beaten the previous record for the highest number of World Cup wins set by his old arch rival Nicolas Vouilloz.

He also has a strong lead in the series, with a total of 645 points – 127 more than his nearest rival, Santa Cruz Syndicate team-mate Greg Minnaar.

Despite big black clouds overhead the rain stayed at bay throughout the racing in Vallnord, Andorra on Sunday and all the riders raced on a dry track.

Australian Mick Hannah (GT Bicycles) set a super-fast time early on and held the lead right up until number four seed Minnaar hit the track. Greg held a strong pace all the way down and posted a 2:23.46, just 0.25 seconds ahead of Hannah.

Next up was Peat, who attacked the course, putting in extra pedal strokes wherever possible, and unseated Minnaar by 1.41 seconds. World champion Gee Atherton (Animal Commencal) followed and crossed the line just 0.2 seconds behind. 

Please install Adobe Flash player to view this content

Atherton, although happy with second after a disappointing start to the season, was gutted to miss out on the win by so little. He said: "I rode better today; I was a little looser than in the past few races and it certainly paid off. A few mistakes in the woods certainly cost me the win but that's racing."

Last man down was Australian Sam Hill (Monster Energy Specialized), who was 1.6 seconds up on the top half of the course but limped across the finish line in 2:27.89 after a crash in the woods.

A crash put top qualifier sam hill (monster energy / specialized / mad catz) out of contention: a crash put top qualifier sam hill (monster energy / specialized / mad catz) out of contention

Sam Hill was looking quick until a crash ruined his chances

Fifth place went to Kiwi Justin Leov (Trek World Racing), who was pleased to make it onto the podium. He said : "Man, that's a relief! I can't believe it. I've been getting so many sixths, sevenths and eighths and I just needed to have a solid run.

Watch the qualifying highlights now:

Please install Adobe Flash player to view this content

"Half way down I started to get tunnel vision, and I think if the race would have been 15 seconds longer, I probably would have crashed, I was getting that dizzy. But I have to say, the bike was so amazingly quick on this course, it just accelerated so well out of corners and felt so stable in the high speed sections."

In the women's race, Frenchwoman Sabrina Jonnier (Maxxis Rocky Mountain) took the lead by 3.87 seconds (2:41.58). She was followed by her countrywoman Emmeline Ragot (Suspension Center, 2:45.45) and Britain's Tracy Moseley (Trek World Racing, 2:45.47). Jonnier has now taken the overall lead in the series with 642 points – just two more than Moseley.

Moseley said: "That was a pretty tough result to digest. I made a mistake in the top section, but other than that I thought I had a great run. To see the time that Sabrina posted, well it just kind of deflated me.

"Losing to Emmeline by two-hundredths, well that's racing and sometimes it goes your way and sometimes it doesn't. Small margins are cruel but part of the sport. It's the bigger margin I need to work on, and I’ll be heading home tomorrow to do just that."

France's sabrina jonnier (team maxxis-rocky mountain bicycles) won the women's race: france's sabrina jonnier (team maxxis-rocky mountain bicycles) won the women's race

Tracy Moseley was four seconds off the pace in the women's race


Elite men
1 Steve Peat (GBr|Santa Cruz Syndicate) 0:02:22.05
2 Gee Atherton (GBr|Animal Commencal) 0:00:00.02
3 Greg Minnaar (RSA|Santa Cruz Syndicate) 0:00:01.41
4 Mick Hannah (Aus|GT) 0:00:01.66
5 Justin Leov (NZl|Trek World Racing) 0:00:01.88
6 Nick Beer (Swi|Scott 11) 0:00:01.95
7 Brendan Fairclough (GBr|Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz) 0:00:02.01
8 Bryn Atkinson (GBr) 0:00:03.21
9 Josh Bryceland (GBr|Santa Cruz Syndicate) 0:00:03.34
10 Steve Smith (Can|MS Evil Racing) 0:00:03.35
12 Chris Kovarik (Aus|Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense) 0:00:03.50
13 Dan Stanbridge (GBr) 0:00:03.67
14 Filip Polc (Svk|MS Evil Racing) 0:00:03.89
15 Samuel Blenkinsop (NZl|Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team) 0:00:03.91
16 Aaron Gwin Holmes (USA|Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team) 0:00:04.24
17 Cody Warren (USA|Specialized Team America) 0:00:04.26
18 Matti Lehikoinen (Fin|MS Evil Racing) 0:00:04.32
19 Bernat Guardia Pascual (Esp|Massi) 0:00:04.42
20 Robin Wallner (Swe) 0:00:04.54
Elite women
1 Sabrina Jonnier (Fra|Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain Bicycles) 0:02:41.58
2 Emmeline Ragot (Fra|Suspension Center) 0:00:03.87
3 Tracy Moseley (GBr|Trek World Racing) 0:00:03.89
4 Céline Gros (Fra|Morzine-Avoriaz 74) 0:00:06.19
5 Myriam Nicole (Fra) 0:00:06.83
6 Mio Suemasa (Jpn) 0:00:07.02
7 Floriane Pugin (Fra|Iron Horse-Kenda-Playbiker) 0:00:07.26
8 Melissa Buhl (USA) 0:00:09.62
9 Fionn Griffiths (GBr|Norco World Cup) 0:00:11.77
10 Anais Pajot (Fra|Team Sunn) 0:00:13.47
11 Emilie Siegenthaler (Sui|Scott 11) 0:00:13.89
12 Katy Curd (GBr) 0:00:16.00
13 Micayla Gatto (Can) 0:00:16.19
14 Petra Bernhard (Aut|Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team) 0:00:16.33
15 Miranda Miller (Can) 0:00:17.86
16 Diana Marggraff (Ecu) 0:00:20.87
17 Claire Buchar (Can|Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense) 0:00:21.41
18 Anita Molcik (Aut) 0:00:22.84
19 Jessica Stone (GBr|2Stage Factory) 0:00:24.26
20 Fanny Lombard (Fra) 0:00:26.52
DNS Helen Gaskell (GB.)

UCI Mountain Bike World Cup #3 Stages

The world is for... Racing

BikeRadar's racing news comes direct from our sister site,, the world's leading source of cycling news.

For even more in-depth coverage of racing visit