RadioShack confirms line-up for 2012 Giro d'Italia

By | Tuesday, May 1, 2012 9.37am

This article was originally published on

Fränk Schleck will lead RadioShack-Nissan in the 2012 Giro d'Italia, supported by a strong climbing team. The team had to re-form its lineup after designated Giro captain Jakob Fuglsang dropped out with a knee injury. It was announced over the weekend that Schleck would move into the captain's role.

Related links

It will be Schleck's second appearance at the Giro, having ridden it previously in 2005.

Daniele Bennati will be the team's man on the sprint stages. The 31-year-old Italian is still looking for his first win this year, but last season won stage at the Circuit de la Sarthe, Tour of Austria, Tour de Wallonie and the Vuelta a Espana. In 2008 he won three stage and the point ranking at the Giro d'Italia.

In the mountains, the team will look to Oliver Zaugg and Thomas Rohregger. Zaugg won the Tour of Lombardy last year, while Rohregger won his homeland Tour of Austria in 2008.

RadioShack-Nissan for 2012 Giro d'Italia: Jan Bakelants, Daniele Bennati, Ben Hermans, Giacomo Nizzolo, Nelson Oliveira, Thomas Rohregger, Fränk Schleck, Jesse Sergent and Oliver Zaugg.

You can follow BikeRadar on Twitter at and on Facebook at
You can also improve your fitness and train with us on

User Comments

Post a Comment:

BikeRadar Partner Offers

Fitness Matches

Fitness Matches


Dating to get your pulse racing - get 50% off your first month with code FM50




Find the right cycling holiday for you with MuchBetter Adventures