Tour de France stage 11: Gallopin takes impressive victory

Nibali maintains on hard-fought stage to Oyonnax

This article was originally published on

Tony Gallopin (Lotto Belisol) added an impressive stage victory to his already successful Tour de France with a solo attack into Oyonnax.

Giant-Shimano’s John Degenkolb sprinted to second place in the peloton, only a few metres behind Gallopin. Matteo Trentin rounded up the podium for Omega Pharma-Quick Step

Vincenzo Nibali’s yellow jersey was never in any danger. The Italian finished in 20th place, but Andrew Talansky (Garmin-Sharp) suffered the worst on the stage, getting dropped mid-way through the day and struggling to make the time cut.


1 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto-Belisol 4:25:45  
2 John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano    
3 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Omega Pharma-Quick Step    
4 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Tinkoff-Saxo    
5 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica Greenedge    
6 José Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team    
7 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team    
8 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale    
9 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale    
10 Kévin Reza (Fra) Team Europcar    
General classification after stage 11
1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 46:59:23  
2 Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky 0:02:23  
3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team 0:02:47  
4 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:03:01  
5 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto-Belisol 0:03:12  
6 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) 0:03:47  
7 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:03:56  
8 Jean-Christophe Péraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:03:57  
9 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling 0:04:08

Related Articles


Back to top