Martin wins men's world TT title from Wiggins

German powerhouse retains TT rainbow jersey from Wiggins and Cancellara

This article originally appeared on

Tony Martin (Germany) secured his third individual world championship time trial title with a virtuoso display in Florence, Italy. The German secured his third straight rainbow jersey in a time of 1:05:36.65, setting the fastest times through all but one of the intermediate time checks.

Olympic time trial champion Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain) earned a silver medal, 46 seconds adrift of Martin. Four-time world champion Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland) had to accept third, a further two seconds back on Wiggins after the British rider had overhauled what had been a 24-second deficit to the Swiss rider.

Last year's silver medallist Taylor Phinney (United States of America) had to settle for fifth, with Vasil Kiryienka, third in 2012, claiming fourth.

However, there was no doubt about Martin's domination. The German, efficient and effective as he churned a huge gear, set off in the 79-man field. Over a course that perfectly suited his rigidity and power, Martin was simply a class apart with the main fight for silver and bronze the focal point from just over the half-way point.

Martin rides past the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore

Cancellara had started out the more sprightly of the two. The former time trial king missed last year's event through injury, but after a string of wins in the Spring Classics and an eye-catching win against Martin in the Vuelta a Espana time trial earlier in the month, many had tipped him to roll back the years and claim his fifth world title. Wiggins, fresh from his overall win in the Tour of Britain, set off before both of his main rivals and at one stage, it looked as though he would be locked in a battle for bronze with his Sky teammate Kiryienka. However the British rider paced his race, and although he was never on terms with Martin - unlike Cancellara - he was able to beat off Cancellara's fading challenge for second spot on the podium.

Related Articles

Back to top