UK time trial round-up: Joel Wainman wins Pennine CC 50

Aran Stanton wins Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers event

British best all-rounder Nik Bowdler had to settle for second best to Joel Wainman in the classic Pennine CC 50-mile event over a course based on Dishforth, North Yorkshire, on Sunday.

The Farnborough and Camberley CC rider, whose 50-mile time of 1hr 39min 2sec in the API Metrow event last year helped him to the all-rounder title, was the scratch rider in the Pennine event with a qualifying time well over two minutes faster than last year’s event winner Joel Wainman (Team Swift).

In-form Nino Piccoli (API Metrow) was a further 1:30 off the pace in third place, gaining his podium position by just 117 seconds from Neil Skellern (Congleton CC).

Wainman also led the winning Team Swift squad, backed by veteran Derek Roe, who was just five seconds from getting inside two hours, and Tony Boardman.

Stanton victorious in Bournemouth event

Fighting back over the second half of the Dorset course, Aran Stanton (VC St Raphael) claimed victory in a close scrap for the honours in Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers’ 50-mile event on Sunday.

Stanton, reported to be eight seconds down on his rival at half distance, proved the stronger finisher over a the final headwind section of the course to cross the line in 1:51:52, beating the promoting club’s own top hope Paul Jones by just 13 seconds.

Jon Wynn (Northovers Veterans Team) completed the individual podium, just five seconds further back.

Bournemouth Jubilee’s Dave Pickering, third last year, dropped to sixth place this time out in 1:58:00 but, with club-mate Richard Eastham seventh in 1:58:18, the Wheelers clinched the team award.

Last year, Dave Dent won the Jubilee event by a massive four-minute margin.

Ian Black grabs gold in Scottish 100-mile championship

Defending champion Jim Cusick had the consolation of leading the winning Glasgow Couriers team but was pushed out of the individual medals in the Scottish 100-mile championship at Invergordon on Sunday.

Victory went to Ian Black (Sandy Wallace Cycles), who covered the distance in 3:56:06 to clinch the gold medal by just four seconds from Scottish championship regular Carlos Riise (Shetland Wheelers).

Exile Matthew Howitt (Yorkshire Road Club) was more than five minutes adrift in third place, with Cusick relegated to fourth in 4:02:20.

But with Ray Johnston (4:05:31) and David Millar (4:07:25) finishing fifth and sixth, the Glasgow boys were unstoppable in the team race and even had Steven Blom in reserve in seventh, a single second down on Millar.

Peter Balls wins Team Cambridge 10-mile event

The Team Cambridge 10-mile event on the famous Six Mile Bottom course on Saturday produced a string of fast times, with the top six  in the men’s solo category finishing inside 20 minutes.

API Metrow pair Mark Arnold and John Iszatt had earlier clocked a rapid 18:52 to win the tan dem event, and Arnold was then back on solo bike to record 19:53 for fourth place in the main event.

Victory went to Peter Balls (West Suffolk Wheelers), whose 19:25 gave him the top spot by seven seconds from Lee Bark (Stowmarket and District CC).

Luke and Ross Clarke dominate Hemel Hempstead 10-miler

Brothers Luke and Ross Clarke led a dominant display by Team Milton Keynes riders in Hemel Hempstead CC’s 10-mile event at Leighton Buzzard on Saturday.

Luke (21:04) and Ross (21:43) took the first two individual places, with Simon Cannings (21:56) completing an MK podium clean sweep. Their rider Yvonne Gurney was best of the women, and the Clarke brothers’ father Steve Clark clinched the veterans (40-54) age group prize.


Pennine CC 50 (Dishforth, North Yorkshire):
1 Joel Wainman (Team Swift) 1:48:18
2 Nik Bowdler (Farnborough & Camberley CC) 1:49:56
3 Nino Piccoli (API Metrow) 1:51:26
4 Neil Skellern (Congleton CC) 1:51:43
5 Derek Parkinson (Cleveleys RC) 1:51:54
6 Carl Saint (Yorkshire Road Club) 1:52:19
7 Keith Murray (Westbrook Cycles) 1:52:57
8 Peter Greenwood (Clayton Velo) 1:54:00
9 Mark Redwood (VC Long Eaton) 1:54:20
10 Robin Brennan (Preston CC) 1:54:40
Women: Clare Ella (Lincoln Wheelers) 2:08:34.
H'cap: Angus Wilson (Cambridge CC) (21:00) 1:41:57.
Team: Team Swift 5:49:43.
Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 50 (Bere Regis, Dorset):
1 Aran Stanton (VC St Raphael) 1:51:52
2 Paul Jones (Bournemouth Jubilee Wh) 1:52:05
3 Jon Wynn (Northovers Vets Team) 1:52:10
4 Terry Icke (Poole Wheelers) 1:57:20
5 Julian Thacker (CC Weymouth) 1:57:40
6 Dave Pickering (Bournemouth Jubilee Wh) 1:58:00
7 Richard Eastham (Bournemouth Jubilee Wh) 1:58:18
8 Gary Tuskin (Poole Wheelers) 1:58:54v
9 Gary Allen (GA Cycles) 1:58:54
10 Max Baldock (Poole Wheelers) 1:59:17
Veterans on standard: Terry Icke +47:43.
Women: Rebecca Ev ans (Bournemouth Jubilee Wh) 2:21:38.
Team: Bournemouth Jubilee Wh 5:48:23.
Scottish 100-mile championship (Invergordon):
1 Ian Black (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 3:56:06
2 Carlos Riise (Shetland Wh) 3:56:10
3 Matthew Howitt (Yorkshire Road Club) 4:01:36
4 Jim Cusick (Glasgow Couriers) 4:02:20
5 Ray Johnston (Glasgow Couriers) 4:05:31
6 David Millar (Glasgow Couriers) 4:07:25
7 Steven Blom (Glasgow Couriers) 4:07:26
8 Andrew Rowat (Musselburgh RCC) 4:20:20
9 Ian Condie (Dunfermline CC) 4:20:59
Kenny Philpot (Elgin CC) 4:24:49
Women: Christine McLean (Shetland Wh) 4:28:33.
Team: Glasgow Couriers 12:15:16.
Team Cambridge (Six Mile Bottom, 10 miles):
1 Peter Balls (West Suffolk Wh) 00:19:25
2 Lee Bark (Stowmarket & Dist CC) 00:19:32
3 Scott Westwood (Walsall RCC) 00:19:48
4 Mark Arnold (API Metrow) 00:19-53
5 Simon Bateson (East London Velo) 00:19:54
6 Meurig James (Willdesden CC) 00:19:56
Women: Chrissy Radon (High Wycombe CC) 00:20:49.
Tandems: John Iszatt & Mark Arnold (API Metrow) 00:18:52.
Hemel Hempstead CC (Leighton Buzzard, 10 miles):
1 Luke Clarke (Team Milton Keynes) 00:21:04
2 Ross Clarke (Team Milton Keynes) 00:21:43
3 Simon Cannings (Team Milton Keynes) 00:21:56
4 Tony Parks (North Bucks RC) 00:22:05
5 Duncan Murphy (Cambridge CC) 00:22:16
6 Stuart Tarry (Team Sanjan Design) 00:22:17
Women: Yvonne Gurney (Team Milton Keynes) 00:25:43.
Team: Team Milton Keynes 1:04:03.
De Laune CC (Chilham, Kent, 25 miles):
1 Ben Instone (Scientific Coaching) 00:52:14
2 Kevin Tye (ODSL Racing) 00:53:47
3 Lee Turner (Sigma Sport RT) 00:55:38
4 Phil Bull (VC Elan) 00:56:04
5 Andy Miles (VC Elan) 00:56:08
6 Dave Wheeler (Rye & Dist Wh) 00:56:34
Women: Gwen Cook (Essexx Roads CC) 1:05:01.
Team: VC Elan 2:52@13.
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia

Related Articles

Back to top