Katie Compton wins World Cup cyclo-cross race in France

American still ranked world #1; Albert takes men's race

American Katie Compton (Planet Bike) beat reigning cyclo-cross world champion Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) by 35 seconds at the second round of the International Cycling Union (UCI) Cyclo-cross World Cup in Nommay, France on Sunday.

The American powered away from a group of seven riders -- including Vos -- during the second of seven laps.

The fast and greasy grasslands suited the stronger riders and two laps later Compton shook off the Dutch world champion. The American grabbed her sixth career World Cup win to extend her lead in the overall UCI World Cup rankings for the elite women.

A power-packed chase group included former World Champion Hanka Kupfernagel (Stevens) - who made her comeback on the highest level after injury - and also Czech-American Katerina Nash (Luna Chix).

In the end it was the Netherlands' Sanne Van Paassen (ZZPR) who won the sprint for the remaining podium spot, ahead of her disappointed compatriot and team-mate Daphny Van den Brand and Nash, at 1:27 behind Compton. Half a minute later Kupfernagel outsprinted France's Christel Ferrier-Bruneau for sixth place.

Elite women's results

1Katherine Compton (USA)0:42:57 
2Marianne Vos (Ned)0:00:35 
3Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) ZZPR.NL0:01:27 
4Daphny Van Den Brand (Ned) ZZPR.NL0:01:28 
5Katerina Nash (Cze)0:01:30 
6Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger)0:02:05 
7Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra)0:02:07 
8Caroline Mani (Fra)0:02:22 
9Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus  
10Helen Wyman (GBr)  

For complete results with photos, visit Cyclingnews.com.

Elite men's race

World champion Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) grabbed his third consecutive victory in the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup in Nommay, by holding off Czech champion Zdenek Stybar (Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team) in a two-man sprint.

"I had a good day but the track was very fast and Stybar was very good," said Albert. "It came down to a sprint and I won it by about 10 centimeters."

Compton's American Planet Bike team-mate Jonathan Page finished 40th, 3:55 off the pace.

Elite men's results

1Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus1:00:10 
2Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team  
3Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago0:00:09 
4Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:15 
5Francis Mourey (Fra) Française des Jeux0:00:22 
6Christian Heule (Swi) Rendementhypo Cycling Team0:00:40 
7Martin Zlámalík (Cze) Prodoli Racing Team0:00:55 
8Enrico Franzoi (Ita) Liquigas0:01:07 
9Radomir Simunek (Cze) BCKP - Powerplus0:01:24 
10Gerben de Knegt (Ned) Rabobank0:01:25 

For complete results with photos, visit Cyclingnews.com.

Related Articles

Back to top