Latest: Nys 151; Breschel sore; Pro continental teams;

Sven Nys has notched up his 151st victory as a cyclo-cross rider, and remains the man to beat in win

Sven Nys has notched up his 151st victory as a cyclo-cross rider, and remains the man to beat in win
PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM Cyclo-cross's reigning king, Sven Nys (Rabobank) started the New Year on a winning note, taking out the eighth edition of his own GP Sven Nys. The UCI number one and top ranked rider in both the Superprestige and Gazet van Antwerpen Trofee Veldrijden series beat young guns Lars Boom (Rabobank) and Niels Albert (Palmans) in his home town of Baal, Belgium. The more experienced Bart Wellens and world champion Erwin Vervecken (both Fidea) were fourth and fifth. For Nys, it was his 151st victory as a cyclo-cross rider. He had to bounce back from disappointment and illness the previous week, finishing only fifth in the 9th round of the World Cup in Hofstade. He then missed a Gazet van Antwerpen race in Loenhout, but came back strongly to win the sixth round of the Superprestige series in Diegem, followed by the GP Sven Nys in Baal. Nys now looks like keeping his UCI ranking, as well as wrapping up both major cyclo-cross series before the season finishes. But the big test will be the World Championships in Hooglede-Gits on January 28. Nys is the most dominant cyclo-crosser ever, but has 'only' won the World's once. The Cannibal from Baal is eager to increase that number after several near misses. Breschel recovering after crash Danish rider Matti Breschel (CSC) crashed during the Six Days Ouverture in Copenhagen on December 27. The 22 year-old was taken to hospital for examination, but the diagnosis was not too serious. "Nothing is broken and even though my back is hurting and I'm beaten up pretty bad, it does not stop me from training at full effect, so that's good," Breschel said. Breschel had the misfortune to crash near the start of the 2006 season and finished up with a serious back injury, which sidelined him for most of the season. "I have a bit of experience with back injuries, but the pain comes from a different place this time, so that is comforting," said Breschel, who probably won't ride on the track again. "I have tried that now, and it really didn't go too well." Breschel actually crashed twice but wasn't badly hurt the first time. Breschel has been training for the new season for some time, as he will start his season in the Tour Down Under in January. He hopes to be in shape right from the outset. "I am always searching for victories, but we have three Australian riders on the team, so of course we would like to get them some victories," Breschel said, hinting at Stuart O'Grady, Matthew Goss and Luke Roberts. Professional Continental teams announced The UCI has announced the teams that will make up the Professional Continental division in 2007. A total of 25 teams have made the cut: Health Net Presented By Maxxis (USA) Navigators Insurance Cycling Team (USA) Team Slipstream (USA) Selle Italia - Serramenti Diquigiovanni (Ven) Elk Haus - Simplon (Aut) Team Volksbank (Aut) Chocolade Jacques - Topsport Vlaanderen (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Tonissteiner (Bel) Andalucia Cajasur (Spa) Karpin Galicia (Spa) Relax-Gam (Spa) Agritubel (Fra) Barloworld (GBr) DFL-Cyclingnews-Litespeed (GBr) Wiesenhof - Felt (Ger) Ceramiche Panaria Navigare (Irl) Tenax (Irl) Acqua & Sapone - Caffe Mokambo (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia (Ita) OTC Doors - Lauretana (Ita) Tinkoff Credit Systems (Ita) Skil - Shimano Professional Cycling Team (Ned) Intel Action (Pol) Benfica (Por) Drapac Porsche Development Program (Aus) for 2007 Australian team is not a pro continental team; it's in the third division of continental teams and is formulated as a development team. It combines Australia's U23 road development program and track endurance riders with major sponsorship support from the Australian Institute of Sport and the South Australian Tourism Commission. The team will compete in two groups with one, primarily involving the U23 road riders, based in Italy from March to October and competing in Europe while the second group of mainly track endurance riders will be based in Australia and contest events in Asia, Australia and Europe. has a 16 rider roster for 2007, a selection of which will compete in the Tour Down Under from January 16-21 (Bates, J. and S. Clarke, Walker, Sanderson, Olman, Ford, Sulzberger). The full squad is: Gene Bates (SA) Elite Simon Clarke (VIC) U23 Jonathon Clarke (VIC) Elite Peter Dawson (WA) Elite Zakkari Dempster (VIC) U23 Sean Finning (VIC) U23 Michael Ford (VIC) U23 William Ford (VIC) U23 Shaun Higgerson (NSW) Elite Mark Jamieson (TAS) Elite Cameron Meyer (WA) U23 Miles Olman (QLD) U23 Nic Sanderson (VIC) Elite Wesley Sulzberger (TAS) U23 Johnnie Walker (VIC) U23 Stephen Wooldridge (NSW) Elite Team website: Got a comment? Discuss this in the Procycling forum. What else is new? Check out the Procycling blog.
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top