UK cyclo-cross: Derby to host National Trophy final

Winners to be crowned at Markeaton Park on January 18

Markeaton Park in Derby is to host the sixth and final stage of the National Trophy Cyclo-Cross Series on January 18 2009.

Racing starts at 10.30am and finishes at 3.15pm with the finish of the Elite category race. Laps of the course are usually seven minutes long and there are plenty of good viewing points along the route.

It promises to be an exciting day, with Derby-based riders Lucy Garner (under 16 girls), Saskia Hook (under 14 girls) and Geoff Giddings (veterans) all currently leading their categories.

Rob Sharman from British Cycling and Lauren Smith from Cycle Derby are organising additional children’s races alongside the main events. These will be held on a separate course adjacent to the main route and children can enter on the day or through their local Derby school.

Spectator car parking is available at the main car park off A38/A52 (Ashbourne Rd) roundabout and free car parking is available at the University of Derby.

The current series began in Abergavenny, South Wales, on 21 September 2008 and has included events at Exeter, Ipswich, Leicester and Rutland Water.

This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia

Related Articles

Back to top