British team named for mountain bike world's

Athertons lead the charge

British Cycling has announced its 35-strong team for the upcoming mountain bike world championships in Val di Sole, Italy between 15-22 June.

Siblings Dan, Gee and Rachel Atherton have made the squad and are all on fine form after they each had a world cup race win at the recent event in Vallnord, Andorra. Also included in the squad is multi-world cup downhill winner Steve Peat, Britain's first female world cup winning downhiller Tracy Moseley and Commonwealth gold winner Liam Killeen. A crop of talented junior riders complete the line-up.

It's possible that more riders will be added to the squad following the Fort William world cup in case of any outstanding performances there.


Elite men/women: Dan Atherton, Gee Atherton, Rachel Atherton, Ben Cathro, Brendan Fairclough, Fionn Griffiths, Tracy Moseley, Steve Peat

Junior men: Josh Bryceland, Sam Dale, Danny Hart, Joe Smith


Elite men/women: Dan Atherton, Scott Beaumont, Will Evans, Fionn Griffiths, Dave Wardell


Elite men/women: Oli Beckingsale, Liam Killeen, Fiona McDermid

U23 men: Ian Bibby, Ross Creber, Ian Field, David Fletcher

Junior men / women: Sebastian Batchelor, Hamish Creber, Annie Last, Alex Paton


Elite 20": Andrei Burton, Daniel Butler, Tom Rankin, Ben Savage, Ben Slinger

Elite 26": Andrei Burton, Daniel Butler, James Hyland, Ben Savage, Ben Slinger

Junior 20": Joe Oakley, Sam Oliver

Junior 26":  Joe Oakley, Sam Oliver, Scott Wilson

This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia

Related Articles

Back to top