6th Tour of Britain launched

Start in Yorkshire, finish in London

Last year's Tour of Britain visited Blackpool

The route for this year’s Tour of Britain was unveiled on Tuesday at The London Transport Museum in Covent Garden. The race’s sixth edition will start in Yorkshire on September 12 and finish in central London on September 19, taking in eight stages that include two in the South West – Devon and Somerset – a first for organisers.


A field of 96 of the world’s top riders will contest this year’s event. With the likes of Mark Cavendish, Tom Boonen and Nick Nuyens having ridden the UK’s biggest race, organisers have ensured that the route will really test the capacity of the pros over the seven days of competition.

A daily highlights package on ITV4 will bring the race to home viewers, while thousands are expected to line the roadside on each of the eight stages.

The 2009 race will visit 14 towns and cities, some of which are regulars on the race parcours, such as London and Dumfries and Galloway, while others like York and Bideford will be new.

Tour of Britain route

  • Stage 1 – 12 September: Scunthorpe – York
  • Stage 2 – 13 September: Darlington – Newcastle Gateshead
  • Stage 3 – 14 September: Scottish Borders – Dumfries & Galloway
  • Stage 4 – 15 September: North West – Blackpool
  • Stage 5 – 16 September: Stoke-on-Trent
  • Stage 6 – 17 September: Frome – Bideford
  • Stage 7 – 18 September: Hatherleigh – Yeovil
  • Stage 8 – 19 September: London