Britain take team sprint gold in LA

Great Britain's team sprint trio of Chris Hoy, Jamie Staff and Jason Queally take the gold medal at

Great Britain's team sprint trio of Chris Hoy, Jamie Staff and Jason Queally take the gold medal at
PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM Some familiar faces were in the medals as the world track championships kicked off with old rivalries revived by the prospect of a rainbow jersey. Chris Hoy of Great Britain, Anna Meares of Australia and Juan Llaneras of Spain were all medallists on the first night of racing in the ADT velodrome in Carson, Los Angeles, although not all of them took gold. Competition was immediately fierce in the qualifiers for the men's team sprint finals, with Great Britain (Chris Hoy, Jason Queally, Jamie Staff) setting the best time ahead of Holland, France and Germany. As France and Germany entered the race-off for bronze, in the race for gold, Team GB squared up to the Dutch team and their rising star, Theo Bos. Despite Arnaud Tournant's best efforts, the French proved unable to hold off the Germans and, in the final, Great Britain rode true to form with all three riders turning in flying times to secure gold. For Team GB's Jason Queally, a first rainbow jersey made up for his disappointments at the Athens Olympics, while for Hoy and Staff, both already world title holders, victory provided further confirmation of their talents. In the women's 500-metre time trial, Natallia Tsylinskaya of Belarus took the gold medal ahead of world record holder and Olympic champion, Anna Meares of Australia. "I haven't been training for this event," said Meares. "I knew there would be expectations after the Olympics and my world record. We almost flicked it but then we figured we would give it a shot." Victoria Pendleton of Team GB, rode strongly but slipped out of the silver medal position as the sprint time trial competition progressed, to finish fifth. In a thrilling men's 40-kilometre points race, Volodymyr Rybin of the Ukraine sealed victory on the final lap, stealing enough points to leapfrog Ioannis Tamouridis of Greece for the gold medal. The evergreen Juan Llaneras of Spain, world points champion as long ago as 1996, took bronze. Team GB's 2002 world champion, Chris Newton, whose abject performance on the Olympic stage of the Athens velodrome left him on the verge of tears, was a different prospect on the boards in LA, but a series of attacks could only secure him fourth place in a very tight race.
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top