Cameron Meyer wins Australian Cyclist of the Year award

'Oppy' medal goes to triple world champ and Commonwealth Games gold medalist

Cameron Meyer was awarded the Hubert 'Oppy' Opperman medal when he was named the 2010 Australian Cyclist of the Year at a gala ceremony in Melbourne late Sunday.

Meyer, 22, won the medal for the first time ahead of former winners Cadel Evans and Anna Meares. He also claimed the track rider of the year award.

While Evans was the favourite to win his fourth medal in five years, Meyer was a deserving winner after an outstanding year.

The West Australian won three titles at the world track championships in Copenhagen in March and another three gold medals at the New Delhi Commonwealth Games in October.

© AFP 2010

Back to top