Dauphiné Libéré 6: Moreau takes back yellow

As everyone predicted, Christophe Moreau wants the 2007 Dauphiné Libéré the most, and after grabbing

As everyone predicted, Christophe Moreau wants the 2007 Dauphiné Libéré the most, and after grabbing
PIC: Christophe Moreau (Tim De Waele) For the third time in the 2007 Dauphin Libr, the stage was won by Astana, when Maxim Iglinsky left the 10 other riders in a break behind and reached the finish line a couple of minutes ahead of everyone else. The break had been established early on during the 198 kilometers from Gap to Valloire, and all 11 riders were still in it ahead of the second to last mountain, where Iglinsky decided to escape. But Astana has Le Tour on its mind, so it came as no surprise to the peloton or anyone else to see 2001 Dauphin Libr winner Christoph Moreau (Ag2r Prvoyance) and Cadel Evans (Predictor-Lotto) escape from the other favorites to take over the top two GC spots heading into Sunday's grand finale into Annecy. Americans Discovery Channel's George Hincapie did not start Saturday after succumbing to the same stomach bug that forced out Team CSC's Bobby Julich on Friday. Last year's Dauphin champion Levi Leipheimer (Discovery Channel), suffering from a bad stomach as well, gutted out stage 6, but slipped from sixth to 31st at 12:46 after losing contact late in the stage. Dave Zabriskie (Team CSC) stayed with an elite group of about 15 coming up the Tlgraphe, but didn't quite have the jam to match Moreau's extra acceleration. The Utah rider finished 21st at 2:04 behind Moreau. Zabriskie lies in fifth overall, 2:16 back. "Zabriskie* fought like a tiger and had a lot of help from Volodymir on that final climb. Prior to that both Marcus Ljungqvist, Christian Vande Velde and Nicki Srensen had worked hard for him in the favorite's group, so I'm fully satisfied with our guys after this stage," said CSC's Alain Gallopin. "I also think we managed to hang on to our third place in the team's competition." The 59th Dauphin finishes Sunday with the 129km two-climb stage from Valloire to Annecy. The route hits the Cat. 2 Col de Tami and the Cat. 1 Col de la Forclaz at 110km before the final run into Annecy. *For an entertaining interview with Zabriskie and Saunier Duval-Prodir's David Millar, check out the July 2007 Procycling, our 100th issue. Results 1 Maxim Iglinsky (Kaz, Astana) 2 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus, Crdit Agricole) 00:00:51 3 Pierrick Fdrigo (Fra, Bouygues Telecom) 4 Rmy Di Gregorio (Fra, Franaise Des Jeux) 5 Egoi Mart¡nez (Spa, Discovery Channel) 00:02:16 6 Mikel Astarloza (Spa, Euskaltel-Euskadi) 7 Aleksandr Kuschynski (Blr, Liquigas) 8 Christophe Moreau (Fra, Ag2r Prvoyance) 00:02:23 9 Cadel Evans (Aus, Predictor-Lotto) 00:02:25 10 Leonardo Piepoli (Ita, Saunier Duval-Prodir) 11 Alberto Contador (Spa, Discovery Channel) 00:03:46 12 Bernhard Kohl (Aut, Gerolsteiner) 13 Manuel Beltr n (Spa, Liquigas) 00:04:04 14 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz, Astana) 15 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra, Cofidis) General classification after stage 6 1 Christophe Moreau (Fra, Ag2r Prvoyance) 26:54:25 2 Cadel Evans (Aus, Predictor-Lotto) 00:00:14 3 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz, Astana) 00:01:27 4 Denis Menchov (Rus, Rabobank) 00:01:52 5 David Zabriskie (USA, Team CSC) 00:02:16 6 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra, Cofidis) 00:03:17 7 Mikel Astarloza (Spa, Euskaltel-Euskadi) 00:03:58 8 Alberto Contador (Spa, Discovery Channel) 00:04:24 9 Manuel Beltr n (Spa, Liquigas) 00:05:01 10 Tadej Valjavec (Slo, Lampre-Fondital) 00:05:17 11 Bernhard Kohl (Aut, Gerolsteiner) 00:05:50 12 Leonardo Piepoli (Ita, Saunier Duval-Prodir) 00:05:52 13 Volodimir Gustov (Ukr, Team CSC) 00:05:53 14 Pierrick Fdrigo (Fra, Bouygues Telecom) 00:06:12 15 Rmy Di Gregorio (Fra, Franaise Des Jeux) 00:06:28
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top