Discovery announce 2006 line-up

They may be going into the 2006 season without Lance Armstrong, but the Discovery Channel team are c

They may be going into the 2006 season without Lance Armstrong, but the Discovery Channel team are c
PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM The Discovery Channel have released their full roster for the 2006 season - and directeur sportif Johan Bruyneel feels that the team boasts the quality to compete across the whole spectrum of races. Having said goodbye to Michael Creed, Antonio Cruz, Ryder Hesjedal, Patrick McCarty and a certain Lance Armstrong, Discovery have recruited Trent Lowe, Egoi Martinez, Jurgen van Goolen and Vladimir Gusev. "Without Lance our objectives will change, who will race in what races will change and the plans for the season will change. But we still have a very strong team without him," Bruyneel said. "If you look at our 2005 season and take out what Lance accomplished, basically his Tour victory, this team had an amazing season. It was a season that any team would sign up for before it started." "We have plenty of strong riders who are ready to step up and take the opportunity to lead the team at a race like the Tour de France," the Belgian continued. "The Tour was always our one goal and we always had one leader in Lance for that particular race. Now, riders like George Hincapie, Yaroslav Popovych and Jose Azevedo are all excited to take the opportunity [to lead the team]." "I feel like we have a really strong team but, without Lance, it's going to take some time and some races to get used to him not being here," said Bruyneel. "It will be big challenge for me. I think in a few years we will have another strong leader at the head of this team and I think we have a few that are here now and are ready to step up into that role." 2006 DISCOVERY CHANNEL PRO CYCLING TEAM ROSTER: Jose AZEVEDO (POR) Michael BARRY (CAN) Manuel BELTRAN (ESP) Fumiyuki BEPPU (JPN) Volodymyr BILEKA (UKR) Janez BRAJKOVIC (SLO) Tom DANIELSON (USA) Stijn DEVOLDER (BEL) Viatcheslav EKIMOV (RUS) Vladimir GUSEV (RUS) Roger HAMMOND (GBR) George HINCAPIE (USA) Leif HOSTE (BEL) Benoit JOACHIM (LUX) Trent LOWE (AUS) Egoi MARTINEZ (ESP) Jason McCARTNEY (USA) Gennady MIKHAYLOV (RUS) Benjamin NOVAL (ESP) Pavel PADRNOS (CZE) Yaroslav POPOVYCH (UKR) Hayden ROULSTON (NZL) Paolo SAVOLDELLI (ITA) Jose Luis RUBIERA (ESP) Jurgen VAN DEN BROECK (BEL) Jurgen VAN GOOLEN (BEL) Max VAN HEESWIJK (BEL)
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top