Evans named top Australian cyclist of 2007

Tour runner up collects another award

The 2007 Tour de France runner-up Cadel Evans was named Australian cyclist of the year at an awards ceremony on Friday.

Evans, riding for the Predictor-Lotto team, won his second-straight Sir Hubert Opperman Medal, which is awarded to the national cyclist of the year. He also won the men's road cyclist of the year and the inaugural people's choice award.

Evans had a year of unparalleled success in Australian cycling.

He finished second in the Tour de France, the best overall finish by an Australian in cycling's most famous race.

Evans was also fourth in the Tour of Spain, fifth at the world road cycling
championships and he won the ProTour international road series.

He now aims to win the 2008 Tour de France, and then back that up a fortnight later in the road events at the Beijing Olympics.

Evans was also named Procycling's 2007 Rider of the Year by its readers.

© Bikeradar & AFP 2007

This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia

Related Articles

Back to top