Langkawi 10: Charteau wins tour as Loddo equals record

Le Tour de Langkawi finished with a criterium in Kuala Lumpur, won by Alberto Loddo. The Italian too

Le Tour de Langkawi finished with a criterium in Kuala Lumpur, won by Alberto Loddo. The Italian too
PIC BY BRUNO BADE Anthony Charteau confirmed his status as the new champion of Le Tour de Langkawi, while Alberto Loddo equalled the current record of five stage wins in a single tour. Charteau, who has been protecting his lead as the tour leader since winning stage 3, could finally celebrate after today's Kuala Lumpur Criterium. He became the first Frenchman in the history of the race to win the overall title. "Winning this race is the next step in my career, although I have to point out that at the start, I was not even thinking of winning the title as we were supposed to give support to (Francesco) Bellotti," said Charteau after the race. "I have only won time trials before. so winning this stage race was very important. I will be looking to maintain my form for the ProTour races like the Tour of the Basque country and Tour of Catalunya. I hope that we will get an invitation to take part in the Le Tour de France this year." Even though the Kuala Lumpur Criterium was regarded more as a spectacle than an actual classification race, it did not stop Thomas Voeckler (Equipe Bouygues Telecom) from attacking. He was joined by Sandy Casar (Franaise des Jeux) and Steffen Weigold (Tinkoff Credit Systems). The peloton gave chase for Koji Fukushima (Nippo-Meitan Hompo) to join the breakaway group, as Charteau still maintained his position within the bunch to protect himself from getting in trouble. With just four laps to go in the criterium around the city of Kuala Lumpur, the bunch was driven by the boys from Ceramiche Panaria and Serramenti PVC as they joined up with the leaders to set up a sprint finish. Although Voeckler and Nikolai Trusov (Tinkoff) sprinted with just 50 metres to go to the finish, Loddo was too fast as he came from the outside to win. "To win a record of five stage victories might seem big but considering the great team work which was put in by the team, it is fair," said Loddo. "The green jersey was the target when we started this Tour and from here, I hope that we can do well for the Giro d"Italia." Walter Pedraza from the Serramenti PVC outfit said that he is very happy to have won the king of the mountains red polka dot jersey. "Le Tour de Langkawi is more than just a well-organised race, it is a hard and difficult race, so winning the king of the mountains title is a great achievement," said Pedraza. The question of whether I can win at Giro is not on whether it is harder than Langkawi or otherwise, but rather on the condition of the riders themselves, which is far more important." Iranian Ghader Mizbani picked up his second blue jersey for the best Asian rider, while his Giant Asia Racing Team confirmed its status as the best team (Asian and overall). Giant Asia Racing's win of the overall team title was the first ever by a team from Asia in the 12 year history of the Tour. "I am proud to be part of this winning team although I must admit that this year, the race was a lot closer than it has been in a the last few editions," said Mizbani. "The formation of the continental teams in the last two years has helped a lot in the development of the Asian riders and it is evident from the Le Tour de Langkawi this year." Stage 10 results 1 Alberto Loddo (Ita, Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Selle Italia) 1:41:55 2 Nikolai Trusov (Rus, Tinkoff Credit Systems) 3 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg, Ceramiche Panaria Navigare) 4 Julian Dean (NZl, Crdit Agricole) 5 Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn, Nippo-Meitan Hompo) 6 Ahmad Haidar Anuawar (Mas, Letua Cycling Team) 7 Nicholas Sanderson (Aus, 8 Mashahiro Shinagawa (Jpn, Skil Shimano) 9 Luis Rodriguez (Spa, 10 Daryl Impey (RSA, South Africa) Final general classification 1 Anthony Charteau (Fra, Crdit Agricole) 32:32:14 2 Jose Serpa (Col, Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Selle Italia) 0:01:02 3 Walter Pedraza (Col, Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni-Selle Italia) 0:01:34 4 David George (RSA, South Africa) 0:03:06 5 Jay Crawford (Aus, Giant Asia Racing Team) 0:04:05 6 Ghader Mizbani (IRI, Giant Asia Racing Team) 0:04:14 7 Pavel Brutt (Rus, Tinkoff Credit Systems) 0:04:21 8 Yokihiro Doi (Jpn, Skil Shimano) 0:04:43 9 Luis Rodriguez (Spa, 0:04:53 10 Hossein Askari (IRI, Giant Asia Racing Team) 0:04:54 Sprints: Alberto Loddo (Ita, Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni_ King of the mountains: Walter Pedraza (Col, Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni) Asian rider: Ghader Mizbani (IRI, Giant AIS Racing Team) Team: Giant Asia Racing Team Asian Team: Giant Asian Racing Team Got a comment? Discuss this in the Procycling forum. What else is new? Check out the Procycling blog.
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top