Mallorca 5: Steegmans conquers

Gilbert claims overall

Belgian Gert Steegmans – winner of the Gent Stage of the 2007 Tour de France – conquered the final race of the Volta a Mallorca. The 27 year-old of Team Quick Step won the 147.6-kilometre Trofeo Calvia over Lithuanian Tomas Vaitkus (Astana) and Spaniard Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d'Epargne).

Steegmans' compatriot, Philippe Gilbert (Française des Jeux), won the final overall classification of the five-day race. The 25 year-old Belgian – fourth for the day – took victory in day one (Trofeo Mallorca) and four (Trofeo Sóller). Aitor Pérez Arrieta (Extremadura-Ciclismo Solidario) and Haimar Zubeldia (Euskaltel-Euskadi) finished second and third, respectively.

"In the first stages, I had always had some good placings, and, today, I have finally conquered the win," said Steegmans. "It wasn't such an easy stage – mixed with five climbs. On the longest climb of seven kilometres, about 70 to 80 riders broke off from the lead group. Then in the final part of the stage the team did some very good work taking me to the sprint in the best condition. I'm really satisfied."


1 Gert Steegmans (Bel|Quick Step) 3:55:23
2 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu|Astana)
3 Alejandro Valverde (Spa|Caisse d'Epargne)
4 Philippe Gilbert (Bel|Française des Jeux) 0:00:02
5 Sebastiaan Langeveld (Ned|Rabobank)
6 Juan Antonio Flecha (Spa|Rabobank)
7 Alberto Losada (Spa|Caisse d'Epargne)
8 Bram Tankink (Ned|Rabobank)
9 Manuel Ortega (Spa|Andalucía - Cajasur)
Final general classification
1 Philippe Gilbert (Bel|Francaise Des Jeux) 18:17:37
2 Aitor Perez (Spa|Extremadura-Ciclismo-Solidario)
3 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa|Euskaltel-Euskadi) 0:00:03
4 Alberto Losada (Spa|Caisse d'Epargne)
5 Yon Bru (Spa|Euskaltel-Euskadi) 0:00:08
6 Antonio Colom (Spa|Astana)
7 Jesus Rosendo (Spa|Andalucia-Cajasur)
8 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa|Karpin Galicia)
9 Matteo Carrara (Ita|Quick Step)
10 Iban Mayoz (Spa|Karpin Galicia)

For full results and report , visit

Back to top