Rik holding off Davis in ENECO

ENECO Tour prologue winner Rik Verbrugghe holds the leader's red jersey by a narrow margin over Alla

ENECO Tour prologue winner Rik Verbrugghe holds the leader's red jersey by a narrow margin over Alla


The bad weather that affected the Tour of Denmark also caused significant problems at the ENECO Tour in Belgium and Holland over the weekend. The lead in the latest round of the ProTour is currently held by prologue winner Rik Verbrugghe, who holds a narrow six-second advantage over Liberty Seguros' Allan Davis, who won Saturday's third stage.

Davis attacked late on as his three-rider break that also included Leif Hoste and Michael Blaudzun was being hunted down by the peloton. The Australian had the strength to jump away on the last little climb in spite of being at the front for the whole stage, and achieved his fourth victory of the season.

"I had to give everything to get this win," said the Australian, "but I'm very satisfied. This is a fantastic win. Of course I had a lot of support with me, but just before we were caught I wanted to give everything because I felt I had a bit of power left. It was the right choice. I was lucky enough that we had two from our team in the break. We just played our cards as the day went on. I dedicate this to my team-mate Rene Andrle, who was in the break, and I want to thank all my Liberty Seguros-Wurth team-mates as well. We've been trying to get a win since the start of the tour."

Sunday's tough stage through more of the Amstel route countryside proved chaotic, as rain lashed the riders and they were then sent off course with about 40km remaining. Once reorganised, the final sprint was taken by Lampre-Caffita's Alessandro Ballan, with Davis fourth, a couple of places and some useful bonus seconds behind Verbrugghe.

Stage 2, Geldrop-Sittard

1 Simone Cadamuro (Ita) Domina Vacanze 178km in 4.14.48
2 Marco Zanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi
3 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi
4 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) Saunier Duval
5 Stefan van Dijk (Hol) MrBookmaker.com
6 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Crdit Agricole
7 Allan Davis (Aus) Liberty Seguros
8 Gorka Verdugo (Spa) Euskaltel
9 Giosu Bonomi (Ita) Lampre-Caffita
10 Uros Murn (Slo) Phonak

Stage 3, Beek-Landgraaf

1 Allan Davis (Aus) Liberty Seguros-Wrth 206km in 4.56.44
2 Erik Dekker (Hol) Rabobank 0.05
3 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Lampre-Caffita
4 Sergei Ivanov (Rus) T-Mobile
5 Pieter Mertens (Bel) Chocolade Jacques
6 Peter van Petegem (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto
7 Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Quick Step
8 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner
9 Pablo Lastras (Spa) Illes Balears
10 Eric Baumann (Ger) T-Mobile

Stage 4, Landgraaf-Verviers

1 Alessandro Ballan (Ita) Lampre-Caffita 232km in 6.06.05
2 Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Quick Step
3 Leif Hoste (Bel) Discovery Channel
4 Allan Davis (Aus) Liberty Seguros
5 Jurgen van den Broeck (Bel) Discovery Channel
6 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Lampre-Caffita
7 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) Saunier Duval
8 Johan Coenen (Bel) MrBookmaker.com
9 Sergei Ivanov (Rus) T-Mobile
10 Andreas Klier (Ger) T-Mobile

Overall standings

1 Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Quick Step-Innergetic 19.44.28
2 Allan Davis (Aus) Liberty Seguros 0.06
3 Michael Blaudzun (Den) CSC 0.14
4 Erik Dekker (Hol) Rabobank 0.15
5 Carlos Barredo (Spa) Liberty Seguros 0.16
6 Jurgen van den Broeck (Bel) Discovery Channel 0.18
7 Andreas Klier (Ger) T-Mobile 0.20
8 Thomas Dekker (Hol) Rabobank 0.25
9 Sergei Ivanov (Rus) T-Mobile 0.36
10 Pieter Mertens (Bel) Chocolade Jacques

This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top