T-A 6: Petacchi back in the groove

Alessandro Petacchi wins stage six of Tirreno-Adriatico, but Oscar Freire still leads going into Tue

Alessandro Petacchi wins stage six of Tirreno-Adriatico, but Oscar Freire still leads going into Tue
PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM Given a flatter roads and a superb lead-out by his 'train', Alessandro Petacchi got the better of world champion Oscar Freire on the sixth stage of Tirreno-Adriatico, contested on a long circuit around the Adriatic coastal town of Civitanova Marche. Although Freire made the first move for the line in the concluding bunch sprint, Petacchi powered past the Spaniard to take the stage by a bike length. On the flatlands alongside the Adriatic, all of the big sprint guns stayed in contention for the final sprint after Freire's Rabobank team-mates have snuffed out earlier attacks. On the run-in to the line there was a hard-fought struggle to get on Petacchi's wheel, and this contest was won by Mario Cipollini. Freire battled with Paride Grillo, Baden Cooke, and others to get on the veteran sprinter's wheel. Realising he was going to have no luck trying to come by the two Italians from behind, Freire jumped to the left-hand side of the road to start the sprint as his rivals stuck behind Petacchi on the right. For a few moments the tactic seemed to have worked and Freire looked set for Tirreno win number four. But Petacchi quickly ate away his advantage and in the process trimmed a few seconds off the Spaniard's lead going into tomorrow's final stage. McEwen came through for third place and was arguably the fastest finisher of all. His problem was that he had to come through from eight or nine riders back and the Australian could have done with another 50 metres of road. Stage 6, Civitanova Marche circuit 1 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 160km in 3.53.40 (41.09kph) 2 Oscar Freire (Spa) Rabobank 3 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Davitamon-Lotto 4 Paride Grillo (Ita) Panaria 5 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Lampre-Caffita 6 Sergio Marinangeli (Ita) Naturino 7 Mario Cipollini (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi 8 Baden Cooke (Aus) Franaise des Jeux 9 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Phonak 10 Volodymyr Bileka (Ukr) 14 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Cofidis 36 George Hincapie (USA) Discovery Channel 38 Julian Dean (NZ) Credit Agricole 46 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Francaise des Jeux 58 Frank Hoj (Den) Gerolsteiner 118 Matt Wilson (Aus) Francaise des Jeux 0.19 142 Roger Hammond (GB) Discovery Channel 0.33 149 Matt White (Aus) Cofidis DNF Brad McGee (Aus) Francaise des Jeux Overall 1 Oscar Freire (Spa) Rabobank 28.13.57 2 Petacchi 0.19 3 Guidi 0.30 4 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner 5 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 0.33 6 Angel Vicioso (Spa) Liberty Seguros 0.37 7 Marcus Zberg (Swi) Gerolsteiner 0.40 8 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Credit Agricole 9 Hincapie 0.41 10 Andreas Klier (Ger) T-Mobile 0.43 59 White 8.05 77 McEwen 11.35 88 Hammond 15.17 95 O'Grady 17.08 105 Cooke 20.51 126 Dean 37.27 134 Renshaw 41.16 139 Wilson 44.48 148 Hoj 52.53
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top