Team CSC wins second ProTour TTT

In yet another ramping up for Le tour, the top ProTour teams raced against the clock in a team time trial. Team CSC won its second consecutive race of truth in Eindhoven Sunday.

Team CSC won the wet 48.6-kilometer ProTour team time trial in the Dutch city of Eindhoven Sunday for the second year in a row, despite having teammate Nicki Sørensen crash in the final turn. The victory was by one single second ahead of the Italian team Tinkoff Credit Systems, while Milram took the third place just 13 seconds behind the Danish team.

"I slid 10 or 15 meters on the asphalt, because it was so wet and slippery," Sørensen said. "But for the same reason I didn't hurt myself that badly. I would easily be able to race again tomorrow if I had to."

"We'd have liked to finish with all eight of us crossing the line - that doesn't happen too often in a time trial and especially not in rainy weather with an average speed of 54 kilometers per hour - or whatever we were doing out there today," Bobby
Julich said. "So it was a brilliant team effort. Everyone did their best and we worked really well together.

"It's a nice victory as a bonus for all the hard work we do on the time trial bikes throughout the season, so it was a good day for Team CSC," the American added.

1 Team CSC 53:36:75 (54.39 km/h)
2 Tinkoff Credit Systems 00:00:43
3 Milram 00:12:38
4 Discovery Channel 00:24:31
5 Liquigas 00:30:25
6 Quick Step-Innergetic 00:51:26
7 Caisse d'Epargne 00:56:36
8 Crédit Agricole 00:59:84
9 Predictor - Lotto 01:15:75
10 Ag2R Prévoyance 01:45:21
11 Astana 01:49:60
12 Rabobank 01:51:18
13 Saunier Duval-Prodir 01:52:43
14 Cofidis 02:11:83
15 Skil-Shimano 02:13:04
16 Francaise des Jeux 02:32:49
17 Wiesenhof-Felt 02:34:28
18 02:36:79
19 Lampre - Fondital 02:37:35
20 Gerolsteiner 02:47:01
21 Euskaltel-Euskadi 02:47:46
22 T-Mobile 02:50:39
23 Bouygues Telecom 04:51:34

Back to top