Tour of Britain line-up takes shape

With just a couple of weeks left until the Tour of Britain starts in Glasgow, a number of leading te

With just a couple of weeks left until the Tour of Britain starts in Glasgow, a number of leading te


Several of the big-name teams taking part in the Tour of Britain have named their six-rider line-ups for the race, which starts in Glasgow on August 30. Among the latest names confirmed as riding are 2004 Tour of Flanders winner Steffen Wesemann of T-Mobile and Tour de Langkawi winner Ryan Cox.

Wesemann, 34, isn't the only star amongst the talented T-Mobile Team. He will be supported by Eric Baumann and Bram Schmitz, who both won a stage on the Tour of Luxembourg this year, and with Tour de France rider Thomas Steinhauser. Completing the line-up are Dutch rider Bas Giling and German Torsten Hiekmann.

Belgian team include British sprinter Jeremy Hunt and last year's King of the Mountains winner, Ben Day. Day, who has just returned from a training camp in Spain in preparation for the Tour is enthusiastic about his team's chances in this year's race: "The whole team is very motivated and positive about our chances of regaining success on the Tour of Britain. The race is an important event and I personally really enjoyed the atmosphere that surrounds the race, from the organisation to the support of the spectators it is a good race of the cycling calendar.

"Jezza is the best form I have ever seen him in," said Day of former British champion Hunt. "I spoke to him last night and he is really up for the Tour, he has put a lot of preparation in and both us along with the rest of the team are looking forward to the start in Glasgow."

The pair will be accompanied by Belgium riders Davy Commeyne, Christoph Roodhooht, Tom Vannoppen and Erwin Thijs.

British team DFL is led by Wales's Yanto Barker, who finished third at the national road championship in June. He will be backed by a group of experienced riders, including Martin Ford and former National Time Trial Series winner Ben Hallam. Ryan Connor, the national espoirs time trial champion, Phil Dixon and Tim Dunford complete the line-up.

The British-registered Barloworld-Valsir is heading for the Tour of Britain with the aim of improving of last year's tally of one stage one. The team includes the winner of that stage, Enrico Degano, as well as British rider Tom Southam, who intends on doing well on his home soil, and time trial specialist and former US Postal rider David George.

Southam, who has recovered from a terrible year of injuries, is eager for the start. "I really believe that the whole team has a great chance of winning this year's Tour of Britain," said the Italian-based Briton. "The motivation within the team is brilliant, we are fortunate to have a core of riders who can all win the race. This is an important race in our calendar and for me. Personally, I would love to give the British fans a reason to cheer."

Barloworld's strong team also includes Italian Luca Celli, who recently won the Tour of the Walloon Regions in Belgium, plus Langkawi winner Cox, who is also the South African national champion, and Australian Sean Sullivan.

This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top