Turpin thwarts Mayo, Levi rebuffs Menchov

Ludovic Turpin manages to hold off the pack of leaders going over the Izoard into Brian‡on for a fam

Ludovic Turpin manages to hold off the pack of leaders going over the Izoard into Brian‡on for a fam
PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM The Dauphin Libr served up that rarest of things, a victory by a French rider in a ProTour event in the Alps, as Ag2r's Ludovic Turpin went one better than team-mate Christophe Moreau managed yesterday by winning stage five into Brianon. The leader's jersey stayed with Levi Leipheimer, who came 48 seconds down on Turpin in a group led by George Hincapie and also containing second-placed Denis Menchov. Turpin's bid for glory began a long way out. He went clear with Thor Hushovd (Crdit Agricole) and Jrme Pineau (Bouygues Telecom) after 40km and with the massive Col de l'Izoard still to climb. Their gap was more than eight minutes as they started up the Izoard, where first Pineau and then Hushovd dropped off Turpin's pace. Behind the Frenchman, Moreau upped the pace in the peloton until just six riders were chasing the leader - Moreau himself, Iban Mayo (Euskaltel), Eddy Mazzoleni (T-Mobile), Leonardo Piepoli (Saunier Duval), Leipheimer and Menchov. At the summit of the Izoard, Turpin had just 40 seconds in hand as he started the drop into Brianon. As he gave all he had, the chasers eased off and other riders came up to join them. This lull was crucial for Turpin as it gave him the advantage he needed on the final climb of the Gargouille to the finish. Mayo gave chase, but it was too late for the former Dauphin winner to close the gap. Saturday brings the toughest stage of the race, one that imitates next month's Tour stage to the resort of La Toussuire. The Galibier, Glandon/Croix de Fer, Mollard and the final ascent should go most of the way to deciding who wins this race. Stage 5, Sisteron-Brianon 1 Ludovic Turpin (Fra) Ag2r Prvoyance 155km in 4.06.49 2 Iban Mayo (Spa) Euskaltel 0.26 3 Francisco Mancebo (Spa) Ag2r 0.27 4 Pietro Caucchioli (Ita) Crdit Agricole 0.37 5 Leonardo Piepoli (Ita) Saunier Duval 0.41 6 George Hincapie (USA) Discovery Channel 0.48 7 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Ag2r 8 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Gerolsteiner 9 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank 10 Bernhard Khl (Aut) T-Mobile 0.51 Overall 1 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Gerolsteiner 19.55.30 2 Menchov 0.28 3 Moreau 1.48 4 Mancebo 1.49 5 Jos Azevedo (Por) Discovery Channel 2.00 6 Kohl 2.28 7 Hincapie 3.02 8 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Cofidis 3.45 9 Caucchioli 3.56 10 Sergio Paulinho (Por) Astana 4.08
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top