UK time trial round-up: Hutchinson wins national 50

Arthur Doyle crowned Scottish National 25-mile Champion

A late change of course failed to faze multiple national champion Michael Hutchinson on Saturday, when the In Gear-Quickvit RT rider notched up a record tenth consecutive victory in the National 50-Mile Championships.

Roadworks forced a change of course to a nearby alternative to the planned route at BlytheBridge in Staffordshire, and although it was impeccably marshalled the road surface left much to be desired with potholes causing several casualties – the highest profile of which was former champion Stuart Dangerfield.

It was a case of ‘as you were’ (again) with defending champions Hutchinson and Julia Shaw (Utag Yamaha) taking the men’s and women’s titles respectively to add to their wins over 10 and 25 miles this year.

“It went ok for me,” said Hutchinson. “But I understand others weren’t so lucky. There were quite a lot of people getting held up and having problems, because the surface left a lot to be desired in places.”

Hutchinson clocked 1:43:18 to win by 3:50 from Matt Bottrill (I-Ride RT), while Charles McCulloch (Shorter Rochford) was third, another two seconds back.

“I was always reasonably happy with the time checks I was getting,” added Hutchinson. “But I had to keep it on because Matt [Bottrill] was going very well early on.”

Hutchinson’s winning margin was his best since 2005 when he was a whopping 6:56 quicker than Gethin Butler.

Also celebrating a convincing victory was Julia Shaw, who won the women’s title by 5:13 – the biggest margin of her five National 50 victories to date.

“It’s always good to get another title,” she said. “I don’t do many 50s – only really the title races, so it always feels special. And it’s always difficult to know how you’re going to go against your rivals.

“There’s always that doubt, and on the course this time I was very aware of the potential for problems.

“I’ve done a lot of Rudy Project Series events in the past, so I’m quite happy to race on that type of course. But it would’ve been nice to be on the original course because it would’ve been a lot quicker.

“Fortunately on the day the traffic was light, so you could ride out into the road a bit more and miss a lot of pot holes.

“It was relatively trouble free for me, but Lynn Hamel and I got held up behind a lorry for a long time which was frustrating. Fortunately I knew I was already well up.”

Shaw clocked 1:54:40 to win by 5:13 from VC St Raphael’s Sarah Storey, with Hamel (Team NCA) third, with 2:00:30.

Arthur Doyle crowned Scottish National 25-mile Champion

North of the border, Dooley’s Cycles Racing Team rider Arthur Doyle was crowned Scottish National 25-Mile Champion at Fordoun, winning by 23 seconds.

While defending champion Mark Atkinson (Team Velo Ecosse) pulled out the day before with a groin injury, Doyle proved a worthy winner with a time of 51:33 and also took the team prize alongside Andy Torrance and Davy Gibson.

In near-perfect conditions there were several personal best times recorded for the out and back course from Fordoun to Strathcathro – but mostly from the women.

Mari Todd (Sandy Wallace Cycles) clocked 57:34 to win the women’s title, and also led Sandy Wallace to a new Scottish team record by 9:48 alongside Fiona Duncan and Victoria Hunter.

Ron Hallam VTTA National 25-mile champion

In other national title race action, 78-year-old Ron Hallam (South Pennine RC) was crowned VTTA National 25-Mile Champion in the event at Boroughbridge in North Yorkshire on Saturday.

The Derbyshire rider clocked 1:04:20 for the V235 course to record a plus of 23:15, just five seconds better than his nearest rival, 81-year-old Dennis Milsom of Mid-Shropshire Wheelers).

But the event very nearly didn’t go ahead, after organiser Bob Tate drove into a ditch while putting out signs along the course. Thankfully, a passing Land Rover pulled him out, and he got the last of the flags out just in time!

Bradley Wiggins nearly breaks his 10-mile record in Cumbria

Bradley Wiggins went within two seconds of breaking his own 10-mile competition record when he clocked exactly 18 minutes in the Kent Valley Road Club event on the L1015 at Levens in Cumbria.

The Garmin-Slipstream rider showed his class by winning the event by 2:41 from his nearest rival, 17-year-old Jack Green (Westmead Team 88), while third spot went to Jason Bateman (Pendle Forest CC) who was four seconds slower.

Wiggins' ride was not without controversy, however. He used a Zipp 1080 front wheel, which is legal under international UCI rules but illegal under British time trialling (CTT) rules.


National 50-Mile Championship (Blythe Bridge, Staffordshire):
1 Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit RT) 1:43:18
2 Matt Bottrill (I-Ride RT) 1:47:08
3 Charles McCulloch (Shorter Rochford RT) 1:47:10
4 Phil Sykes (VC St Raphael) 1:48:22
5 Ben Instone (Scientific 1:48:46
6 Kevin Tye ( 1:49:02
7 Mark Holton (Shorter Rochford RT) 1:49:13
8 Andrew Bason (Wrekinsport CC) 1:49:18
9 James Wall (Stratford on Avon CC) 1:49:46
10 John Tuckett (AW Cycles) 1:50:20
1 Julia Shaw (Utag Yamaha) 1:54:40
2 Sarah Storey (VC St Raphael) 1:59:53
3 Lynn Hamel (Team NCA) 2:00:30
4 Lynne Taylor (Walsall Roads CC) 2:01:45
5 Avril Swan (Team Endura) 2:03:06
6 Jessica Wilson-Young (Edinburgh RC) 2:05:18
Scottish National 25-Mile Championship (Fordoun, Scotland):
1 Arthur Doyle (Dooleys Cycles RT) 51:33
2 Jonathan Copp (Sandy Wallace Cycles RT) 51:56
3 Jim Cusick (Glasgow Couriers) 52:19
4 Ian Black (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 52:25
5 Peter Ettles (Forres CC) 52:38
6 Andy Torrance (Dooleys Cycles RT) 52:49
Team: Dooleys CRT (Arthur Doyle, Andy Torrance, Davy Gibson 53:42) 2:38:04
1 Mari Todd (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 57:34
2 Jessica Wilson-Young (Edinburgh RC) 59:05
3 Fiona Duncan (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 59:39
Team: Sandy Wallace Cycles (Mari Todd, Fiona Duncan, Victoria Hunter 1:00:00) 2:57:13
VTTA National 25-Mile Championship (Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire):
1 Ron Hallam (South Pennine RC) (1:04:20) +23:15
2 Dennis Milsom (Mid-Shropshire Wheelers) (1:06:24) +23:10
3 Frank Kerry (Lancashire RC) (1:01:28) +22:54
1 Dave Hudson (City RC, Hull) (57:06) +15:37
2 Chris Yates (Otley CC) (57:13) +14:58
3 Joe Murray (Hinckley CRC) (55:38) +14:57
1 Michael Ellerton (Team Swift) 55:23
2 Joe Murray (Hinckley CRC) 55:38
3 Rob Weare (Team Midland) 56:07
Women: Nicky Hornby (Team Swift) (1:16:31) +13:43
Tandems: Mike and Barbara Penrice (Seacroft Wheelers) (1:05:49) +9:56
Teams on std: South Pennine RC (Ron Hallam, Ken Stevens +21:25, Jeff Bowler +18:00) 1:02:40
Overflow event: Marc Mallender (Rutland CC) 55:22
Kent Valley Road Club (Levens, Cumbria, 10 miles):
1 Bradley Wiggins (Garmin-Slipstream) 18:00
2 Jack Green (Westmead Team 88) 20:41
3 Jason Bateman (Pendle Forest CC) 20:45
4 Alan Warburton (Leisure Lakes RT) 20:47
5 Alexander Royle ( 20:54
6 Stuart Walker (Walsall RCC) 20:56
7 Robin Brennan (Preston CC) 20:58
8 Tony Greenhalgh (Maxgear RT) 21:04
9 Martin Pool (Preston CC) 21:06
10 Paul Greenhalgh (ABC Centreville) 21:13
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top