UK time trial round-up: Wainman and Wall win 50s

Junior 25 record falls to Alex Royle

The cancellation of the Eastern Counties CA 100 on Sunday morning left many riders still needing a good 100-mile qualifying time for this year’s Best All-Rounder Series, but for Joel Wainman (Team Swift) it proved to be a good weekend.

The Hull-based rider, who was ninth in the season-long series last year, clocked 1:43:08 in the Otley CC 50 in North Yorkshire, almost three minutes quicker than his qualifying 50 time in the 2008 BAR table.

The last man off in a full field, Wainman’s time underpinned Team Swift’s victory in the team competition, where he was ably supported by Laurie Holmes and Derek Roe, fifth and tenth respectively.

Wall wins Bristol South/Corinium 50

There were also some good 50-mile times being recorded in the joint Corinium CC/Bristol South CC event on the Ashton Keynes course in Wiltshire, where Stratford-on-Avon CC’s James Wall took victory with an impressive 1:42:57.

VC St Raphael’s Mick St Leger was 14 seconds slower and led the winning team, while Lyme RC’s Barry Charlton was third.

Chippenham and District Wheelers’ Jeff Jones was happy enough with fourth spot, having clocked a PB like many others in the event which saw 59 riders go under the two-hour mark.

Piccoli scorches to sub-19 minute 10 in Hertfordshire

Fast times were in plentiful supply at the shorter distances as well, with the Hertfordshire Wheelers 10 at Great Amwell providing four sub-20 minute times.

After his victory in the CC Breckland ten on Wednesday night where he clocked 19:57 on a challenging course, Nino Piccoli (API Metrow) improved by more than a minute in the Hertfordshire event on the fast F20/10, clocking 18:46.

That time was good enough for victory by 45 seconds from Team Milton Keynes’ Luke Clarke, while Alan Warburton (Leisure Lakes RT) was third with 19:34.

Also clocking a sub-20 minute time was Piccoli’s team-mate Mark Arnold with 19:57.

Royle breaks junior 25 record in CDLCA

After securing the juvenile 10-mile competition record three weeks ago, Stockport youngster Alex Royle (Cover Your took the junior 25-mile competition record in the Central District LCA event on Saturday.

The 15-year-old clocked 50:22 to finish fifth in a full field of 120 riders and slice 27 seconds off Alex Dowsett’s 2006 mark.

There were PBs littering the results board on a superb day for time trialling, with winner Matt Bottrill (I-Ride RT) breaking the course record for the A25/11 with 48:05.

Sykes beats course record in Sotonia 25

Course record also fell on the P613/25 in Hampshire on Saturday, where Phill Sykes (VC St Raphael) sliced eight seconds off Ben Instone’s 2008 mark to win the Sotonia CC 25.

Sykes clocked 50:24 to win the event at Shipton Bellinger by 2:18 from the promoting club’s David Koss, who turned in a remarkable ride given that he is 54 and it was his first 25-mile event.

Like many time trials up and down the country It was a superb day in Hampshire, where more than half of the field registered improvements.

Golla strong in Newbury

In-form Steve Golla (Sigma Sport RT) took first and second in the Newbury Road Club’s 10 and 25-mile events last weekend.

He clocked 20:31 in Saturday’s 10-mile event to finish second to Richard Prebble (Candi TV-Marshalls Pasta) by eight seconds.

And then 24 hours later he was top of the podium following a ride of 52:23 over the 25-mile version of the course at Padworth in Berkshire.

That time was good enough for victory by 46 seconds from London Dynamo’s Richard Legge, while Prebble was a non-finisher in Sunday’s event.


Otley CC 50 (Thirsk, North Yorkshire):
1 Joel Wainman (Team Swift)01:43:08
2 Mark Redward (VC Long Eaton)01:49:20
3 Mike Marshall (Yorkshire Velo)01:49:39
4 Chris Yates (Otley CC)01:50:53
5 Laurie Holmes (Team Swift)01:51:43
6 Martin Gibson (Adept Precision RT)01:52:01
7 John Colman (Yorkshire RC)01:52:17
8 Andrew Askwith (Bridlington CC)01:52:34
9 Nigel Goscinski (Yorkshire Velo)01:52:42
10 Derek Roe (Team Swift)01:53:01
10 Simon Coates (Cleveland Wheelers)01:53:01
Team: Team Swift (Joel Wainman, Derek Roe, Laurie Holmes)05:27:52
Tandems: Ruth Crossley (VTTA North) & Andy Fisher (National Clarion)01:47:38
Women: Sara Blackburn (Team NCA)02:08:44
Juniors: Paul Anderson (Ferryhill Wheelers)02:04:08
Corinium CC/Bristol South CC 50 (Ashton Keynes, Wiltshire):
1 James Wall (Stratford-on-Avon CC)01:42:57
2 Mick St Leger (VC St Raphael)01:43:11
3 Barry Charlton (Lyme RC)01:43:30
4 Jeff Jones (Chippenham & Dist Wh)01:44:05
5 Aran Stanton (VC St Raphael)01:44:23
6 Julian Jenkinson (UTAG Yamaha)01:44:45
7 Adam Topham (High Wycombe CC)01:45:01
8 Gary Drew (RNRMCA)01:45:33
9 Rob Weare (Team Midland)01:46:14
10 Paul Dring (Team Echelon)01:47:22
1 Michelle Parsons (Team Echelon)01:56:50
2 Cath Weiss (MD Cycles)01:57:36
3 Claire Day (Bounemouth Jubilee Wh)02:01:12
Veterans on std: Peter Wilson (Bath CC)(2:05:18) +52.28
Hertfordshire Wheelers 10 (Great Amwell, Hertfordshire):
1 Nino Piccoli (API Metrow)00:18:46
2 Luke Clarke (Team Milton Keynes)00:19:31
3 Alan Warburton (Leisure Lakes RT)00:19:34
4 Mark Arnold (API Metrow)00:19:57
5 Ross Clark (Team Milton Keynes)00:20:05
5 Stuart Wright (MD Cycles)00:20:05
7 Mark Jones (Oxford City RC)00:20:06
8 Andre Dyason (PCA Ciclos Uno)00:20:27
9 John Dowling (Hemel Hempstead CC)00:20:29
9 Nick Green (Flitch Crono)00:20:29
Central District LCA 25 (Etwall, Derbyshire):
1 Matt Bottrill (I-Ride RT)00:48:05(course record)
2 Scott Westwood (Walsall Roads CC)00:50:03
3 Derek Parkinson (Cleveleys RC)00:50:07
4 Keith Murray (Westbrook Cycles)00:50:11
5 Alex Royle (Cover Your comp record)
6 Steven Fidler (Crewe Clarion Wh)00:50:44
7 Jon Surtees (RAF CC)00:50:45
8 Stuart Walker (Walsall Roads CC)00:50:46
9 Andy Jackson (Pedalsport CC)00:50:57
10 Dave Hilton (Southport CC)00:51:00
Team: Walsall Roads CC (Scott Westwood, Stuart Walker, Steve Wilkins)02:35:07
Veterans on std: Ron Hallam (South Pennine RC)(57:58) +29:37
Women: Diane Moss (Team Luciano)00:55:39
Veterans on std: Gill Henshaw (VC Long Eaton)(1:08:45) +22:10
Sotonia CC 25 (Shipton Bellinger, Hampshire):
1 Phill Sykes (VC St Raphael)00:50:24
2 David Koss (Sotonia CC)00:52:42
3 Max Baldock (Poole Wheelers)00:52:44
4 Jonathan Hepper (A3CRG)00:52:55
4 Dave Pickering (Bournemouth Jubilee Wh)00:52:55
6 Simon Berogna (Wyndy Milla)00:52:56
7 Stephen Whitewick (UTAG Yamaha)00:53:04
8 Gawie Nienaber (Farnham RC)00:53:14
9 Gary Allan (GA Cycles)00:53:41
10 Graham Weeks (Hillingdon CC)00:53:50
Newbury RC 10 (Padworth, Berkshire):
1 Richard Prebble (Candi TV-Marshalls Pasta)00:20:23
2 Steve Golla (Sigma Sport RT)00:20:31
3 Peter Weir (Maidenhead & District CC)00:20:55
4 Ian Greenstreet (Newbury RC)00:21:08
5 William Girvan (North Hampshire RC)00:21:15
6 Tony Ball (Team Swift)00:21:18
7 Nic Stagg (Spirit RT)00:21:22
8 Ian White (Farnham RC)00:21:49
9 Preston Eckloff (Warwickshire RC)00:22:14
10 Paul Innes (Hounslow & District Wh)00:22:20
Veterans: Richard Prebble
Veterans on std: John Woodburn (VC Meudon)(23:08) +9:38
Women: Mandy Hibberd (North Hampshire RC)00:24:02
Juniors: Matthew Griffin (Chippenham & District Wh)00:24:19
Newbury RC 25 (Padworth, Berkshire):
1 Steve Golla (Sigma Sport RT)00:52:23
2 Richard Legge (London Dynamo)00:53:09
3 Sean Williams (Wightlink Offshore RT)00:55:27
4 Martin Piper (Wightlink Offshore RT)00:56:13
5 Chris Stocks (A3CRG)00:56:58
6 Ian White (Farnham RC)00:57:34
7 James Goward (Farnham RC)00:58:03
8 Ian Reece (Newbury RC)00:58:17
9 Chris Starling (High Wycombe CC)00:58:21
10 John Woodburn (VC Meudon)00:58:27
Veterans: Chris Stocks
Veterans on std: John Woodburn (+25:17)
Women: Gill Reynolds (Willesden CC)01:06:29
Juniors: Elliott Porter (VC Meudon)01:08:39
This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia

Related Articles

Back to top