UK time trialling: Atkinson wins another Scots 25 champs

New course record for four-time winner

Mark Atkinson notched up his fourth Scottish 25-Mile Time Trial Championship victory on Sunday, clocking 52min 15sec to win by 31 seconds at Strathcathro, Aberdeenshire.

Riding for Sandy Wallace Cycles, Atkinson’s time is believed to be a course record, and was good enough to pip rival Gary Robson (Dooleys Cycles) for the win, while his tea-mate Arthur Doyle was third, another nine seconds off the pace.

While Atkinson’s team-mates Jonathan Copp and Ray Wilson were both inside the top ten, they were pipped for the team prize by Dooley’s Cycles, with Robson and Doyle being joined by seventh-placed David Gibson.

Edinburgh Road Club’s Jessica Wilson-Young clocked 58min 58sec to win the women’s event by just over one minute from Shetland Wheelers’ Christine McLean, while Victoria Hunter (Perth United CC) was third.

Prebble wins at Farnham 25

Elsewhere, reigning national 100-mile champion Richard Prebble (GS Strada) proved victorious in the Farnham Road Club 25-mile event at Bentley, Hampshire, on Saturday.

Prebble clocked 51min 24sec to push Richard Simmonds (London Dynamo) into second spot by 40 seconds, while James Boyman was third, with 52min 58sec and led to the team prize along with John Glaysher and Steve Batsford.

Then less than 24 hours later Simmonds had to settle for second spot again when he was beaten in the Reading CC 50-mile event at Aldermaston, Berkshire, on Sunday.

AW Cycles’ John Tuckett recorded 1hr 47min 35sec to win the event on the fast A4 between Reading and Newbury, and while Simmonds’ time of 1hr 48min 27sec was also impressive, it was not good enough for victory.

High Wycombe CC’s Adam Topham took third with 1hr 52min 00sec, while Bicester Millennium CC’s Marion Rickman was best of the women with 2hr 10min 9sec.

Kiddell two minutes ahead at Clevedon &  District 50

Preparing for the national 50-Mile Championship next weekend, David Kiddell won the Clevedon and District Road Club event at Axbridge, Somerset, by more than two minutes.

The Cavalier CC rider clocked 1hr 53min 30sec to beat Charles Zanettacci (Diamond into second spot by 2-13, while his team-mate Jason Bohin was third, another 2-07 off the pace.

Trevor Sherwood’s time of 2hr 10min 5sec ensured that Diamond HF took the team prize alongside Zanettacci and Bohin, while Mary-Jane Hutchinson (Bristol South CC) was best of the women with 2hr 27min 32sec.

Barker by big margin at Whitewebbs 25

On a blustery and cold morning, Sam Barker was in a different class in the Whitewebbs CC 25 at Tempsford, Bedfordshire, winning by two and a half minutes.

The Planet X rider clocked 52min 54sec, while the next fastest was Sam Hayes (Bedfordshire Roads CC) with 55min 34sec, with Stuart Tarry (Team Sanjan Design) third, just two seconds further back.

Grindley grasps Liverpool 25

And over the same distance, Paul Grindley (Liverpool Century RC) won the Liverpool Century RC 25 at Melling, Merseyside, with a time of 55min 59sec to win by just 23 seconds from Scottish visitor Garry Brown (Equipe Velo Ecosse), while Peter Ware (St Helens CRC) took third with 57min 10sec.

Bull wins shortened GS Invicta event

* In Kent, Phil Bull (VC Elan) proved victorious in a GS Invicta time trial which had to be shortened from 25 to 10.5 miles because of last minute road works on the course at Chilham.

He clocked 24min 1sec to win by 25 seconds from David Wheelers (Thornton RC), while Gary Banfield (Kent Cycles) was another ten seconds off the pace in third.

This article was published by BikeRadar, the world's leading source of bike reviews, gear reviews, riding advice and route information
  • Discipline: Road, Mountain, Urban, Womens
  • Location: UK, USA, Australia
Back to top