ASO names teams for Spring Classics

Astana cold-shouldered once more

This year Astana will not be among teams tackling Paris - Roubaix

Amaury Sport Organisation, owner of the rights to three of the great spring classic bike races; Paris-Roubaix, La Fléche Wallonne and Liège – Bastogne – Liège, has released the list of this year’s participating teams.  


It will come as little surprise to most observers to learn that Astana has not been invited to the one day parties after the outfit was shunned for the big summer jamboree – leaving 2007 Tour de France winner Alberto Contador unable to defend his title.

Astana is the only one of the 18 ProTour teams to be excluded from ASO’s spring classics, while Professional Continental teams make up the remainder of the 25 outfits competing in each event.

The full list of teams by country of registration is:

   Germany: Gerolsteiner, Milram

   Belgium: Landbouwkrediet, Quick Step, Silence, Topsport

   Denmark: CSC

   Spain: Caisse d’Epargne, Euskaltel, Saunier Duval

   United States: High Road, Slipstream

   France: AG2R, Agritubel, Bouygues Telecom, Cofidis, Crédit Agricole, Française des Jeux

   Britain: Barloworld

   Italy: Lampre, Liquigas, Tinkoff

   Netherlands: Rabobank, Skil

   Sweden: Collstrop

The events will take place as follows: 

Paris-Roubaix: April 13, 

Fleche Wallonne: April 23, 


Liege-Bastogne-Liege April 27.