Aussies Kelly, O’Grady line up for record fifth Olympics

Full Australian Olympic cycling team announced

Track sprinter Shane Kelly and road squad rider Stuart O’Grady will race in a record fifth Olympics after being named in a 28-strong Australian cycling team on Friday for the Beijing Games.


Three-times world champion Kelly, 36, a silver and bronze medallist in the 1000m time trial at Barcelona and Sydney, won a ride-off against Ben Kersten earlier this month to gain selection.

O’Grady, 35 two days before the August 8 summer Games start, partnered Graeme Brown to win the gold medal in the Madison event at the 2004 Athens Games and has been at every Olympics since Barcelona in 1992.

Tour de France runner-up Cadel Evans will lead the men’s road team, which also features three-time world time-trial champion Michael Rogers, who has recovered from a bout of glandular fever.

Two-time world 500m time trial champion Anna Meares was selected after proving her fitness from serious injuries sustained in a January race crash in the United States. Meares posted a world-class time of 11.189 seconds for the flying 200m in Melbourne earlier month fighting back from a fractured neck vertebra and dislocated shoulder.

Meares broke the world record when she won the 500m time trial – no longer an Olympic event – at the Athens Games and also won bronze in the sprint.

Athens gold medallist Sara Carrigan and Kate Bates were named to join Oenone Wood in the three-rider women’s road team. Bates, the 2007 world points champion on the track, will also ride in that event at the Games as well as the road race.

Just two riders will represent Australia in the cross country mountain biking, Daniel McConnell and Dellys Starr. McConnell’s place came at the expense of top mountain biker Chris Jongewaard, who is facing criminal charges over a hit-and-run incident last year, and had to be left out on ethical behaviour grounds.

Five Australians will compete in the BMX event, which will make its Olympic debut in Beijing. They include Kamakazi, who changed his name by deed poll from Jamie Hildebrandt.

The Australian Olympic Committee must approve the nominations before they become official members of the Beijing team, with riders having until July 1 to appeal against their non-selection.

Team roster 

Track Sprint

  • Men: Ryan Bayley, Daniel Ellis, Mark French, Shane Kelly
  • Women: Anna Meares

Track Endurance

  • Men: Jack Bobridge, Graeme Brown, Mark Jamieson, Brett Lancaster, Bradley McGee, Cameron Meyer, Luke Roberts
  • Women: Katie Mactier


  • Men: Cadel Evans, Simon Gerrans, Matthew Lloyd, Stuart O’Grady, Michael Rogers
  • Women: Katherine Bates, Sara Carrigan, Oenone Wood


  • Men: Jared Graves, Kamakazi, Luke Madill
  • Women: Tanya Bailey, Nicole Callisto

Mountain Bike

  • Men: Daniel McConnell
  • Women: Dellys Starr

© AFP & BikeRadar 2008