Australian, British, Italian and US teams named for World’s

All set for Stuttgart


The Australian, British, Italian and US squads have been finalised for the world road race championships in Germany next week.


Australia has selected a balanced men’s team, with Allan Davis and William Walker being the only sprinters. The team also features Cadel Evans, second in the Tour de France and currently lying in third overall in the Tour of Spain, and Michael Rogers, the three-time world time trial champion. The latter is not down to do the time trial, however.

The women’s team includes Olympic road champion Sara Carrigan and multiple world cup winner Oenone Wood, both of whom are down for the time trial and the road race.

Full squad

Men: Allan Davis (RR), Cadel Evans (RR/TT), Simon Gerrans (RR), Matthew Hayman (RR), Matt Lloyd (RR), Trent Lowe (RR), Bradley McGee (RR/TT), Michael Rogers (RR), William Walker (RR), Cameron Wurf (TT)

Women: Sara Carrigan (RR/TT), Nikki Egyed (RR), Olivia Gollan (RR), Lorian Graham (RR), Emma Rickards (RR), Vicki Whitelaw (RR), Oenone Wood (RR/TT).

U23 Men: Simon Clarke (RR), Zakkari Dempster (RR/TT), Wesley Sulzberger (RR), Johnnie Walker (RR)

The British only qualified four places for their men’s team, and these will be taken by Mark Cavendish, Roger Hammond, David Millar and Brad Wiggins. The team has an excellent chance in the time trial, and in the event of a bunch sprint in the road race, Mark Cavendish has good form.

The obvious omission from the Women’s team is Nicole Cooke, who is due to undergo knee surgery this week. But the team has a potential world time trial champion in Wendy Houvenaghel. The ex-RAF squadron leader and dentist smashed her own national record for the 10 mile time trial last Saturday, clocking 19’50 for the distance on a course near Andover. She backed it up the next day with a 52’39 in a 25 mile event held on a similar course. In doing so, she beat all but one of the men.

Full squad

Men: Mark Cavendish (RR), Roger Hammond (RR), David Millar (RR/TT), Bradley Wiggins (TT)

Women: Elizabeth Armitstead (RR), Catherine Hare (RR), Rachel Heal (RR), Wendy Houvenaghel (TT), Emma Pooley (RR/TT), Tanja Slater (RR), Helen Wyman (RR)

U23 Men: Ian Stannard (TT), Ben Swift (RR)

Reigning world champion Paolo Bettini and Filippo Pozzato will lead the Italian cycling team at the world road championships.

Coach Franco Ballerini revealed his 11-man team on Monday.

Bettini, 33, and 26-year-old Pozzato, who won the Het Volk semi-classic and a stage of the Tour de France this year, will be assisted by Tour of Italy winner Danilo Di Luca, along with Damiano Cunego and Davide Rebellin.

Men’s team

Paolo Bettini, Danilo Di Luca, Davide Rebellin, Filippo Pozzato, Damiano Cunego, Alessandro Ballan, Alessandro Bertolini, Marzio Bruseghin, Andrea Tonti, Vincenzo Nibali, Giovanni Visconti.

The American squad looks to be one of the strongest ever sent by the country. The men’s team includes seven ProTour riders while the women’s team includes last year’s world time trial champion Kristin Armstrong.

Full team

Men: George Hincapie (RR), David Zabriskie (RR/TT), Bobby Julich (RR), Christian Vande Velde (RR), Jason McCartney (RR/TT), John Devine (RR), Tyler Farrar (RR), Danny Pate (RR)

Women: Kristin Armstrong (RR/TT), Amber Neben (RR), Christine Thorburn (RR/TT), Lauren Franges (RR), Katheryn Curi (RR), Mara Abbott (RR), Tina Pic (RR), Alison Powers (TT)


U23 Men: Peter Stetina (RR), Tom Peterson (RR), Craig Lewis (RR), Max Jenkins (RR), Tejay Van Garderen (RR/TT), Nick Frey (TT)